AMD FirePro M6100 overclocking vBIOS mod (+ 8***M and R9 M*** series)

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by valuxin, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. valuxin

    valuxin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    116
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Hi there!

    Currently I have Dell Precision M6800 with FirePro M6100 on board and decided to get a little bit more from this GPU. As it doesn't support software overclocking, the only way is to modify vBIOS. Most recent public vBIOS modding tools don't work with some new graphics cards (including M6100, M280X and so on), so thats why there is only a "HEX" way for modification.

    Since I started this thread, I had many sleepless nights and done a lot of work on modding, so there is a really huge difference between my early and current builds. Here is what we have for now.
    Current build: Mystery Magic vBIOS 1150@1650mhz ver.1
    Features:
    -- Core is clocked to 1150mhz, memory - 1650mhz
    -- Maximum total consuming power set to 100W
    -- Throttling, voltage and GPU fan adjustments
    -- Software overclock is available now with overclocking capabilities up to 1320@1800mhz
    -- UVD states are disabled
    3dmark Fire Strike (v.1.1)
    [​IMG]
    AIDA64 GPGPU Benchmark
    [​IMG]

    *Test Machine config: Dell M6800, i7, 32gb RAM, SSD, hybrid graphics (Intel+AMD), Windows 7 64-bit.​
    Future builds:
    -- Turn on voltage control for software overclocking
    -- Unlock all 896 SP - original SPs have been cut by laser, so it's not possible to do soft mod.

    Downloads:
    vBIOS mods directory

    My collection of original mobile vBIOS

    Flashing instruction:
    Code:
    atiflash.exe -p -f 0 bios.rom
    !!!Before flashing, backup your original vBIOS and create bootable recovery usb drive!!!

    P.S. Any help and even donations are always welcomed:D

    P.S.S.
    If you have vBIOS version newer then mine - it would be super great, if you share it with us;)
    6/19/2015: Software overclocking unlocked. But stupid TDP limits everything. From this day on every vBIOS is unlocked for software overclocking
    6/19/2015: Uploaded modified vBIOS for Precision M6600 and M6800 with various clock rates and software overclocking unlock
    6/19/2015: TDP variables found, but frequency fluctuations still there
    6/20/2015: Voltage variables found, core frequency is stable, core undervolted. Currently, there is only one vBIOS with this changes released for testing purposes.
    6/21/2015: Found fan variables.
    6/23/2015: New testing release branch with many goodies.
    6/27/2015: Mystery Magic ver.2 release

    I stopped working on this project due to switching to Nvidia. No updates in near future.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
  2. baii

    baii Sone

    Reputations:
    1,417
    Messages:
    3,949
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Wow, you are awesome. gonna test it when I find my usb thumb drive (like tonight) - -

    Do you mind if I post link to here on foreign forums. I think a few of those Chinese dude will really love to be white mouse~~
     
  3. valuxin

    valuxin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    116
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    41
    There is no need to use usb drive (only just for restore original). I'm using ATIWinFlash under command prompt with no problem.

    Of course I don't mind^^

    P.S. M6100 needs a little bit different vBIOS in Dell Precision M6600. I'm going to upload it soon (probably today)
     
  4. valuxin

    valuxin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    116
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    41
    UPD: Found the way to unlock software overclocking. But it's almost useless, because of TDP limitations.

    UPD 2:
    Uploaded modified vBIOSes for Precision M6600 and M6800 with various clock rates and software overclocking unlock

    UPD 3: Omg, what a day!:D I found the way to change TDP and gain some more points in 3dmark Fire Strike (core1200@mem1500, Hybrid Graphics enabled):
    [​IMG]
    But there are still fluctuations caused by the temp or idk...
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
    triturbo and phusy like this.
  5. phusy

    phusy Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your vBios mod is awesome. That was what I was looking for. BTW, the Dell version is just 768 SP compare to HP version (896 SP and a high core and VRAM clock rate). I appreciate if Dell replace with a new version of M6100 with more SP like HP version for more OC performance. But so sad, 3 month ago, I replaced a new M6100 from Dell and still 768 SP version with new vBios.
     
  6. valuxin

    valuxin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    116
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    41
    HP card have the same 768 SP. The only difference between HP and Dell FirePro M6100 - second one have lower clocks.
    If you don't mind, could you share your vBIOS with me?^^ Hope to find something new;)
     
    phusy likes this.
  7. phusy

    phusy Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Oops, my bad, after re-install GPU-Z and checked, my vBIOS is 015.035.000.003.044934 like your current vBIOS :eek:
     
  8. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,548
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    1,136
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It's not like you can find it though, unless you get the whole system that is.

    I think that at some point there was a W6170m, which was HP exclusive or something, could be wrong, but I think that's the GPU in question.
     
  9. baii

    baii Sone

    Reputations:
    1,417
    Messages:
    3,949
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I just check my m6600s, (one for my bro) The one I DIY upgrade have .035, the manf refurb for my bro come in .040.
    So they should fit probably. Not sure though ~

    edit: dig through the service tag, the m6100 on the manf refurb not in the initial config~ so idk who add it maybe dell, maybe some dude on ebay~, but it works :oops:

    flashed the .40 on my .35, gonna run a 3dmark11 and post result

    edit 2 seems like the m6600 branch mem speed are not modd'd, tried 1200/1500 1225/1500, 1200/1375 all seem to be 1375mem?

    edit3: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/9955087

    1225/1500, 3dmark11 sustained at ~1075, 26C ambient, peak temp ~75 only

    edit4: did some gaming, i get 99x-105x, i think it use to dip to 900s with stock vbios.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  10. darkydark

    darkydark Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    143
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Any chance you can find voltage values? In my last dealings with a lot of their hardware on the desktop side, everything was undervoltable and then stabile at max turbo clocks. Pretty much the same story as undervolting and overclocking haswell i7s where we are tdp locked.
     
Loading...

Share This Page