Alienware vendor ATI 5870 gpu in Clevo W860CU

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by neol, Jan 30, 2018.

1. neol

neol Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    hello there,

its been a while since i posted here, my problem is that my aging yet well performing W860CU GPU (Nvidia GTX 470m) is dying, and since im a student, i can not afford to buy a new laptop or powerful card, so i bought ATI 5870, however upon installing the card the laptop would produce two beeps and give a black screen, i tried everything and eventually contacted Sager which after investigation, concluded that the card vBIOS is not compatible with my notebook, upon contacting the seller it turned out the card was actually pulled from an Alienware laptop...
    i have now spent one complete week trying to BlindFlash the clevo vBIOS for the 5870 into the card but alas with no success.
    i wanted any help or direction to seek from the experts here at NBR.
    thanks in advance

2. t456

t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

Reputations:
    Use rufus to create a bootable MS-DOS stick and drop these files to its root:
    autoflash_ati_2018_01_30.7z

It'll write a new folder, beep, force-flash the Clevo vbios and beep a second time. With a bit of luck the current vbios is simply an Enduro/switching version and the W860CU is a pure dGPU system. In this situation the new vbios will fix that.

However, not all Dell cards are compatible iirc. It may be that it'll boot with the new vbios, only to shutdown after half a minute due to presumed overheating (thermal sensor mismatch). If so then you'd best resell the card and try baking the 470M instead. Usually have good results myself for both ATI and Nvidia cards.

neol likes this.
  3. Meaker@Sager

Meaker@Sager Company Representative

Reputations:
    It's always tricky with the older systems, if the blind flash does not work as above then then there is not much hope, just remember to flash it back and backup the vBIOS before doing so.

4. neol