Alienware M18xR1 volume buttons not working

Discussion in 'Alienware 18 and M18x' started by kattykong13, Aug 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kattykong13

    kattykong13 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I switched on my laptop today to find that my volume buttons were not working. I am sure they were working yesterday, but don't work any more. The only buttons affected are the volume controls (Up, down, mute) and the Alienware Command Centre. No OSD comes up when i press them either, and i cannot find the OSD drivers to download. Any help would be appreciated, because having to alt-tab and manually change the volume is getting annoying. I have rebooted my computer, that did nothing.
     
  2. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Overclocked | Overvolted Moderator

    Reputations:
    13,510
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21,062
    Likes Received:
    9,539
    Trophy Points:
    931
    You can log into Dell Support and see all the drivers for your service tag. OSD is located in the menu labeled "Applications" along with Alienware Command Center. Below is a link to download OSD for your M18x R1.

    Drivers and Downloads | Dell [United States]
     
  3. megafire455

    megafire455 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Gee that is rather strange. It will not hurt to follow the advise to log into Dell Support and update all your drivers.
     
  4. kattykong13

    kattykong13 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Updated the OSD drivers, which has made no effect at all. I think it is something to do with the OSD though, as only the buttons which open an OSD don't work. Should there be a "OSD.exe", or something like it, open in proccesses?? If there should be, it isn't opening.
     
  5. Alienware-L_Porras

    Alienware-L_Porras Company Representative

    Reputations:
    3,624
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,481
    Likes Received:
    894
    Trophy Points:
    281
    No there shouldn't, maybe you should try a system restore to a date when the issue was not present.
     
  6. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Overclocked | Overvolted Moderator

    Reputations:
    13,510
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21,062
    Likes Received:
    9,539
    Trophy Points:
    931
    You could be having an issue with .NET 4.0 framework. Alienware Command Center, AlienFX and OSD (if I am not mistaken) all require an error-free .NET 4.0 installation. It is possible a Windows Update corrupted something and you should do as Brother Luis suggested and try a system restore to a date before the problem began.

    I recently had a Windows Update totally bugger up my system and it was causing some hard freezes with my 7970M CrossFire setup.
     
  7. kattykong13

    kattykong13 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the help guys, I turned my laptop off for the night, and I boot it up in the morning and the buttons all work, and an OSD shows up. I'm not sure how that fixed it, but it did. Thanks for the help!
     
  8. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Overclocked | Overvolted Moderator

    Reputations:
    13,510
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21,062
    Likes Received:
    9,539
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Cool. Glad it's sorted.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page