Alienware 17 R5 (R1) BIOS Unlocked!

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by Striker1234, Mar 12, 2017.

  1. EepoSaurus

    EepoSaurus Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    331
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    106
    You won't regret it
     
    Striker1234 likes this.
  2. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    824
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Did you end up using heatsinks on the blown capacitors after you got back up and running? I know its sorta off topic but I don't mind adding some sinks to those if its a good idea
     
  3. EepoSaurus

    EepoSaurus Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    331
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    106
    I haven't. Ive been monitoring temps and they have remained very resonable. Not nearly hot enough to melt solder nor cause a fire. Its only been about a week and a half but ive been putting through its paces and i feel confident in calling it a component failure. The temps would not have been high enough to cause a short. They range from 40c to 70c according to a laser temp sensor. The solder wouldnt reflow until approximately 163c. Just a bad component. But great safety measures on this laptop. I mean it literally caught on fire and there was no further damage to any components. I literally just popped everything back in it and she started right up. I reflashed my modded bios and i was off to the races.
     
  4. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    824
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Thanks for sharing, Im really looking forward to picking up a Ranger soon. Hopefully in a couple of days.
     
    Striker1234 likes this.
  5. HaloTechnology

    HaloTechnology Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    33
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Can anyone explain to me, what I could i gain if I flashed the unlocked BIOS ?

    keep in mind I have 60Hrz optimus display with 970m card :) 4700Mq
     
  6. licked

    licked Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello,

    alienware 14 here, 4800mq,765m. In need of modded bios. Please contact me for donation.

    Thank you very much.
     
  7. Pawel1976

    Pawel1976 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ho all
    It's my first post on this forum but I need a help with my AW 17x , because I have locked bios A14.
    My service tag is 850SK12, I have warranty till January 2018 and I asked Tech Support Specialist in Poland about password to unblock bios but they can't help me, a passwords which send me didn't work. They want replace motherboard in my AW but I think it isn't good idea because it will be refurbished part probably. Please tell me what I should to do.
    Sorry for mistakes ;)
    Best regards
     
  8. Pawel1976

    Pawel1976 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Mayby someone know correctly password to unblock my bios or tell me the replacement of the motherboard is necessary
    thanks a lot
     
  9. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    824
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Trophy Points:
    231
    THe purpose of this thread I think has very litte to do with your issue.
     
  10. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    824
    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    2,407
    Trophy Points:
    231
    @Ashtrix

    Looking at the readme, the flash looks simple enough. One quiestion though, would I need to enable the Intel HD graphics before beginning this procedure? If so, Im assuming I can disable it afterwards.

    There is also a missing word in the readme, "Unpack the archive and copy the into C: HD root place !"

    Would it be correct to assume this is meant to be the folder the bios.bin is housed in? Or just the individual files?

    Just want to be careful since this is now my daily driver, no room for error! Thanks in advance you guys!
     
    Ashtrix likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page