Alienware 17 R4 GTX1080 repasting with Liquid Metal, My experience!

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by Pete Light, Jan 2, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pete Light

Pete Light Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Wow so it's all finished and I wanted to fully document and present back to you guys my experience and tips that I found while running through @iiunlock's guide and repasting with grizzly conductonaut in the hope it may help make it easier for you. I'm no expert like the team LHz guys are and I'm keen to point out this is a big job so take your time! Its not for the faint hearted. I know what I'm doing but this still took me around 8 hours to complete (with a couple of mistakes along the way) and nearly ended in tragedy (more on that later)

So, first up I strongly recommend you are really organised when doing this. Here's a pic showing everything you'll need minus the stuff for lapping (which for me was P1200 sand paper, washing up liquid, tub of water)

[​IMG]

First stage complete, straightforward. Note the organisation on the magnetic dry wipe board

[​IMG]

Next up, Wi-Fi card removal was straightforward following his excellent video in the guide. Note I got the exact same tool he did

[​IMG]

Next stage complete, about to take the inner cover off

[​IMG]

Inner cover off, was straight forward

[​IMG]

Mobo off to access the fan connectors before removing the heatsink

[​IMG]

Next up heatsink came off. Careful with the screws, they're very fragile and REALLY easy to thread! Also note I have one of the new builds which had pretty decent temps out of the box (therefore I have the 0.1mm pad (white) and actual (rounded) paste on the CPU. Still way too much applied for what's need imo:

[​IMG]

Nice and organised (can't stress this enough!) My board after full disassembly. SSD and Wi-Fi card were placed on anti static bags

[​IMG]

Closer view of the stock paste

[​IMG]

and...
    [​IMG]