Alienware 15R2/17R3 BIOS 1.6.1

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by VICKYGAMEBOY, Jul 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    9,226
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    8,186
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Just downloaded 1.6.1 yesterday and this happens. I hate to update ucodes every damn month for new exploit. Intel might as well offer us full refund on their affected chipsets and call it a day. It was simply better for Intel to say switch to AMD.
    That bug Dell's saying is due to Windows 10 Spectre protection.
     
    VICKYGAMEBOY likes this.
  2. ThomasAAT

    ThomasAAT Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    59
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Vasudev likes this.
  3. nickbarbs

    nickbarbs Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    298
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,

    Just updated to 1.6.1.. updated smoothly but despite reinstalling all the drivers mentioned in this thread and running the bios again 3 times (I have warranty until 2021 :) ) i'm still stuck on the old v 11.0 Intel M.E. (Which is vulnerable).

    I'm at a loss what to do about it.
     
  4. 95TA

    95TA Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am in the same situation, my ME did not update as well. If you find a viable solution from Dell, please let us know.
     
  5. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    426
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    772
    Trophy Points:
    131
    1.3.12 is better
     
  6. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    426
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    772
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Papusan, Vasudev and 0lok like this.
  7. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    426
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    772
    Trophy Points:
    131
    its a mess right now.. more like cyberwarfare.. lets wait for apollo lake, ice lake and see if they change this core arch..
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  8. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    9,226
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    8,186
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I'll try my luck at AMD laptops/HEDTs. Thanks Intel for the heads up!
     
    VICKYGAMEBOY likes this.
  9. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    9,226
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    8,186
    Trophy Points:
    931
    You can recover to 1.3.12 Dell version and then upgrade to 1.3.12 version I gave you with C6 microcode.
     
  10. ThomasAAT

    ThomasAAT Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    59
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    56
    @VICKYGAMEBOY
    Thanks for letting us know.
    Have you flashed the new 1.6.1 bios?
    Tempted to do it but I am not sure.

    Edit: they reuploaded again with new description: 1. Updated Intel ME Firmware to address security advisory INTEL-SA-00118(CVE-2018-3627)
    2. Updated CPU microcode to address security advisory Intel Security Advisory INTEL-SA-00115 (CVE-2018-3639 & CVE-2018-3640)

    Isn't this the same as the first one that got pulled?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
    VICKYGAMEBOY and Vasudev like this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page