Alienware 15 R2: Undervolting goes back to 0mV

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by linkin_he2004, Jul 20, 2019.

  1. linkin_he2004

    linkin_he2004 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, I need your help. I have undervolted my CPU Intel I7 6700HQ using ThrottleStop and it was successful. It is also showing the undervolted value in HWiNFO64. However, every time I shutdown my laptop and then turn it on, it goes back to 0mV based in HWiNFO64. If I open ThrottleStop, HWiNFO64 now shows the undervolted value. But then again it will go back to 0mV if I will shutdown it.

    I have read in other forums that BIOS might preventing the undervolting process. Is it true?


    TStop.JPG
     
  2. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    7,365
    Messages:
    10,397
    Likes Received:
    7,666
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I think hibernate or hynrid shutdown causes similar issues like yours where undervolt applies for a second and reverts back to 0.0mV.
     
  3. linkin_he2004

    linkin_he2004 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes I have read that some experienced it when using hibernate and by using Intel XTU for undervolting. For me I used ThrottleStop which they advised to use, but still I experienced that problem.
     
  4. phq

    phq Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Have you installed the latest version of Control Center and OC Controls? If yes, I am pretty sure it's OC Controls that does it. As usual there's some undocumented changes and it even trashed my XTU installation. I'm also seeing a much more aggressive thermal throttling after installing the latest version. No hard data on that though yet.
     
  5. linkin_he2004

    linkin_he2004 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do you mean the latest version of ThrottleStop? I used version 8.70.6 which I think is the latest version right now.
     
  6. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    7,365
    Messages:
    10,397
    Likes Received:
    7,666
    Trophy Points:
    931
    15r2 doesn't support UWP AWCC and OC Tools fully!

    Yes that's latest version. Which BIOS version are you using 1.6.1 or buggy 1.4.4?
     
    VICKYGAMEBOY likes this.
  7. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    6,710
    Messages:
    5,613
    Likes Received:
    4,334
    Trophy Points:
    431
    ThrottleStop does not make any changes to your bios. You need to run ThrottleStop if you want it to control your CPU voltage. Follow the guide and you can easily add it to your Windows startup sequence using the Task Scheduler.

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/the-throttlestop-guide.531329/#post-6865107

    It uses next to nothing for CPU and memory resources so leaving it running 24/7 is not going to be a problem. Click on the Stop Data feature if you want to lean it down some more. Once set up and you are happy that it is working, you can even turn off the system tray icon if looking at that bothers you.

    There is a huge ThrottleStop thread on NBR. The link is in my signature. Post there if you need any help getting ThrottleStop setup.
     
  8. phq

    phq Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ah sorry my bad.
     
  9. linkin_he2004

    linkin_he2004 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My BIOS version is 1.7.0.
     
  10. linkin_he2004

    linkin_he2004 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks! I'll try to follow your guide. So this means that ThrottleStop program must run all the time my laptop is on so that the undervolting will remain in my CPU? Or is it just an isolated case like mine?
     
    Vasudev likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page