Alienware 15 R1 CPU ISSUE *WARNING*

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by VICKYGAMEBOY, Feb 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    365
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    704
    Trophy Points:
    106
    First off i would like to express myself, i feel so sad buying this throttling laptop, i had previous gen alienwares, those things had less issues then current ones,

    i purchased my Alienware 15 R1 back in August 2015, the time when skylake launched, they denied skylake it exist in india, yes im from bangalore, india, so after using my lapotp for one month, it was overheating upto 98c, and keep throttling so bad no matter how cold my room temps were, so i called the support team told them im not satisfied with the cpu performance, ive went through many forums, saying free upgrade to skylake on alienware models, but in india they keep denying it, so i told them get me a same 4720hq model, so i had to wait for another 1month, yes freaking 1month, due to some internal communication issues between dell tech team and regional team, so i recived my second laptop on november.. i quite dint have time to check on intense gaming performance, so i was just using it for months, when i got free time i again started hardcore gaming, then i realized it was throttling back to 2.6ghz on max load no matter the temps, so i called them again told them the issue, they denied that this issue exist, so i asked them for a replacement board and heatsink, which actually was thier suggestion, first i got a 240w adapter, then a heatsink with refurb mobo, guess what after changing it went worse, month of Jan, it throttles way beyond 1ghz, yeah to 800mhz on a gaming laptop, ive recorded vidoes of diff games with diff settings, with all monitoring INFO including temps, VID, fps, etc.. even after seeeig all those things they were not clear whats the issue, i told them when cpu throttles to such low speed (a.k.a not working according to intel specification 3.4ghz on all core load) which causes GPU utilization to come below and causes frame rate loss, after weeks of explaining them, finally i told them let me meet them in personal in DELL bangalore HO, which is located near my house, where the service center, tech team sits, i went there to show live demo of the issue, yes like a sales person just to make sure these technicians/level 2 team understands whats the issue, hard to believe in front of me those two guys NAVEENG/DEEPAK tech team guys told me sir i couldnt see any issue here, at that time BO3 framerates from 70FPS to 34FPS, and cpu clock speeds were 800mhz, they couldnt see, i was so annoyed by the tech team, so i told them take all my recording info show this to ur higher team and come back to me in few days, first i requested them a upgrade because this issue mite exist on R1 models, they denied to give me R2, even i was willing to pay some extra cash for new model, FYI i have a 4720HQ with GTX 980M, i asked them a replacement R1 again, they denied, how could they, even though issues on their laptops, so atlast after contacting all forums members i tried to give a go for another refurb mobo, and yes today i recieved it, after 10mins of gaming, back to 800mhz with tons of stutters for 3mins, then back to 2.6ghz, not 3.4, and this is what the tech team wrote to me, as if im the mentally sick person whose saying the cpu throttles, where no one else sees, i feel sad for myself..

    FIRST EMAIL

    Naveen

    Check and do the needful Vignesh

    We shall have the motherboard sent to you again, but all the part will be reconditioned as per T&C. If you feel that if you are facing issue after MB replacement, I shall get this done.

    If issue stands unresolved as per your expectations for high gaming/high software; you have to figure out a way for it on your own.

    For us even now, system is absolutely working fine & we are doing this for your satisfaction

    ( really my satisfaction ?? so that means im blaberring the whole time guys,am i ? thats what these people meant)



    SECOND EMAIL

    As per the update, Regional team has informed us that there is no option for any upgrade of CPU. However, we did not find any issue which were explained by you. At this point in time, system is working as designed. If the game needs more CPU, probably you have to go for an upgrade. (Yeah why not )


    Nothing much we can do here.


    Best,


    Deepak D

    Senior Technical Analyst, L2-Workstation Team

    Dell | Operations – Pro-Support

    links ive shared with them





    http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/official-alienware-15-r1-r2-benchmark-thread.770319/page-20

    and i have all the proof on my email..



    last hope if someone from NA Alienware teams sees what im facing, as a loyal customer im not giving up. and any forum members who can help me record their R2 skylake cpu speed when gaming..
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
    Ultra Male likes this.
  2. rinneh

    rinneh Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    767
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Difficult situation. I had 2 R1's and both did not have these problems. But I remember another user reporting on the same problem as well.
     
  3. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    365
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    704
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Yours is GTX 970m, thats the difference, may be its the poor design on 980m board, bad VRMs, Power Phase controllers.. god knows whats going on, can u post a video with cpu speed on screen, u can use HWINFO alongside msiafterburner to get stats, some gameplay footage proof from other user might help my case, thanks
     
    Papusan likes this.
  4. Emsteez

    Emsteez Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the A15/R1/970M. Mines too would randomly throttle to just under 800mhz, however it was sporadic, and would sometimes even happen during a word document. What I did notice was that removing the AC power supply from the laptop, then reinserting it would immediately address the issue.

    I called Dell, and after some correspondence and the usual reinstall windows advice, they sent a tech who installed a new mobo, AC adaptor and connection from the mobo to the AC adapter.

    It hasn't throttled like that since.
     
  5. Alienware-L_Porras

    Alienware-L_Porras Company Representative

    Reputations:
    3,658
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    281
    It's really weird to see that happening if you have the 240W adapter already. It has got to be related to heat. Have you checked the temperatures while you're gaming? Are they over 95c?

    You could as well try to roll back to BIOS A00. Many users have had a great gaming experience with that one.
     
    Papusan likes this.
  6. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    365
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    704
    Trophy Points:
    106
    first of i would like to thank you for replying, im finally happy to see a representative from alienware responding, and FYI, no it never above 95c, which i believe is thermal throttle point, recent mobo temps were around 86c max, ive noticed it many times, you can see the attached video above, the temperatures were 73-77 for 2.6ghz, and when it had 3.4 the max was 89c, GPU max of 68c, Yes ive tried with A00 to A06 al the way, seems the early fan kick in on Bios A00 doesnt help CPU throttle at any point, my friend who purchased skylake 6700HQ after few months, his CPU clocks never even goes down below 3.3ghz, and ive tried every single solution available by myself and with help of forum members, nothing helps, mr.porra could you please help me, im a loyal alienware fan from 2010, those DELL tech team believes that 800mhz is normal speed, and they blame me of choosing this model, at some point i was depressed even after i told, shared, even visited their office just to show them.. all my hopes on u bro..
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
  7. A-leo

    A-leo Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wow downthrotling to 800 mhz and they called it normal????
    undervolt using xtu utility?
    or maybe using throtlestop and set multiplier to something like 30/31x?
     
    Papusan and Alienware-L_Porras like this.
  8. Alienware-L_Porras

    Alienware-L_Porras Company Representative

    Reputations:
    3,658
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    281
    I'm truly sorry about the issues that you have experiences so far. However, my hands are tied since your machine isn't in the US or Canada (those are the regions that I work for). I could only try to escalate the issue internally to the Social Media team in India to try to get a different solution and wait for the best. They have their own policies and limitations and I can't promise that they'll do what I ask.

    Besides that, I'd remove the service tag and contact details. It's not a good idea to have them in public.

    Either you try to escalate it with the phone team or you let me escalate it internally. In both situations, I wouldn't be able to send any service dispatches myself unfortunately.
     
    Papusan likes this.
  9. VICKYGAMEBOY

    VICKYGAMEBOY Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    365
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    704
    Trophy Points:
    106
    i understand that, im sorry for posting those tags and numbers, i was really down with this issues, my bad.. yeah i think its better if u could forward the msg to them and ill wait for a solution, even now ive check bios A00 just for what u have said.. attached the screenshot of XTU and HWINFO

    http://imgur.com/2XckbG6

    http://imgur.com/okbTd8n
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
  10. Alienware-L_Porras

    Alienware-L_Porras Company Representative

    Reputations:
    3,658
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    281
    No need to sorry buddy. I'll escalate it. Mind to send me the same info via PM?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page