Alienware 13 r1 bios bricked

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by benc122, May 8, 2019.

  1. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    6,714
    Messages:
    10,175
    Likes Received:
    7,461
    Trophy Points:
    931
  2. benc122

    benc122 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    41
  3. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    6,714
    Messages:
    10,175
    Likes Received:
    7,461
    Trophy Points:
    931
    svl7 mod or stock vBIOS?
     
  4. benc122

    benc122 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Stock vbios and the chip I erased was a W25Q8 it’s the 1mbyte chip I have no idea what was on it

    @t456 how do I fix the keyboard if it’s working in my bios but no in windows do I need a driver?
     
  5. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    6,714
    Messages:
    10,175
    Likes Received:
    7,461
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Check all cables and wipe the ribbons with micro fiber cloth and insert them correctly.
     
  6. benc122

    benc122 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I did I see that when I uninstall and reinstall the standard ps/2 driver it works until I restart windows then it stops working

    Update everything on the pc works including the keyboard all I done was kept uninstalling and reinstalling the keyboard driver until it worked lol
     
    Vasudev, t456 and c69k like this.
  7. benc122

    benc122 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I have a major problem I cannot install my touch pad and it’s causing my keyboard not to work I get error 10 with insufficient system resources exist to complete api

    @t456 @Mr. Fox

    @t456 for the Alienware 13 r1 what does the W25Q8 (1mb) chip consist of I’m thinking vbios
     
  8. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,836
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    1,909
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Don't have an R1 myself and since you've wiped it without making a backup it's hard to tell. No harm in flashing an 860M Optimus vbios to that chip though. Could try my Clevo's 860M backup; it's the same card:
    GTX 860M, GM107, optimus, v82.07.27.00.0A.7z

    First thing I'd retry reflashing the bios+ec+me to a newer version though. Just make sure to disable all security measures (inc. passwords) in the bios menu and then flash Dell's A08 as normal or, even better, use the programmer. That is the only way to be sure that all sections are re-written and not just those marked for updating by the flash tool. Have a little patience when it's flashing; the full-fans is normal, either as a precaution or because the EC is temporarily unavailable and without receiving a temperature or rpm signal the system is designed to have its fans run at their full speeeds.
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  9. benc122

    benc122 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I updated from a03 to a08 and how do I flash the vbios without a programmer ?

    @t456 something is odd when I unplug my built in touch pad my keyboard works and when I plug it back in my keyboard stops working until I unplug the touchpad cable again is this a sign of my touchpad going out?
     
  10. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,836
    Messages:
    2,506
    Likes Received:
    1,909
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Hmm ... I'd look into the Synaptics drivers; they have had tons of issues since Windows 10.

    And if that 1MB chips was indeed the vbios eeprom then you can't flash a new vbios with nvflash since it won't be able to identify what it's supposed to be upgrading to. But you have that programmer anyway, right? So not a big problem I'd think. And after flashing a working vbios, even from a different system, you can use nvflash once more and force-flash over the non-matching id, if you like.
     
Loading...

Share This Page