AES-NI support in TrueCrypt (Sandy Bridge problem)

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Skywise, May 31, 2011.

  1. Skywise

    Skywise Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Here's the original post that started this:

    For now what we know is that:

    • Some laptops have an option in the BIOS that lets you enable/disable AES-NI. Check this first before doing anything else.
    • You can test if your system supports it using not only Truecrypt as described above, but also using CPU-Z or Intel's Processor Identification Utility
    • A list of CPUs supporting AES-NI can be found here.
    • If your CPU is listed as supported, you may need a patched BIOS to enable it.
    • On some setups the BIOS update also needs to embed the latest microcode update for the CPU in order for it to work.

    Don't hesitate to let your vendor know AES-NI is a feature you want if it doesn't work on your laptop. If you have contacts at hardware and review web sites, try bringing it up (politely) with people who run them, in an effort to give this more exposure. Also have a look through this thread, as people have been posting links to modified BIOSes for certain systems. Using a such a BIOS is at your own risk however, and the risk of bricking your computer is very real if you do it wrong.
     
  2. Pitabred

    Pitabred Linux geek con rat flail!

    Reputations:
    3,295
    Messages:
    7,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    There's often a BIOS switch to enable that feature, and it's usually disabled by default... have you checked that?
     
  3. Skywise

    Skywise Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    No BIOS switch or option, I checked. G73s normally don't come with a AES-NI capable CPU either, so I doubt Asus will add support for it. This is rather annoying, as AES-NI was a large reason for me to upgrade in the first place.

    EDIT: Long shot - would it be possible to use UEFI to set/bypass it?
     
  4. hxkclan

    hxkclan Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    110
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I though AES-NI was allways enabled. It's enabled on my i7 620m, and there is no way to disable it. Why would they disable such feature on a ''pretty highend'' processor, that doesn't make sense. I don't even think there is a bios option at all to enable/disable aes-ni.
     
  5. newsposter

    newsposter Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    801
    Messages:
    3,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    is your 'upgrade' processor a real production chip or is it an engineering sample?
     
  6. Skywise

    Skywise Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I bought the computer already configured from XoticPC, so I assume it's a production chip. I just got it, so I don't see a reason why it would be an engineering sample.
     
  7. newsposter

    newsposter Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    801
    Messages:
    3,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I'm unclear here....

    Was your laptop factory configured (from Asus) with the 2720 or did XoticPC 'upgrade' the machine with a CPU they themselves installed in their shop?
     
  8. FredFlint_

    FredFlint_ Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
  9. Skywise

    Skywise Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Upgrade. AES-NI is simply not detected by anything that it should show up as. CPU-Z specifically does not list it. Is there a way to check if it's an engineering sample, beyond opening up the laptop and removing the heatsink? (though I doubt that's the issue - I figure Xotic wouldn't be stupid enough to do that)

    EDIT: Ran the Intel CPU ID check and it says AES-NI is not supported, but it also doesn't say anything about it being an engineering sample, like it should if that was the case.
     
  10. newsposter

    newsposter Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    801
    Messages:
    3,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    So what CPU *does* CPUID and/or the Intel CPU check say is installed?
     
Similar Threads: AES-NI support
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Adobe GPU Performance does NOT support AMD on Win 7 Jul 6, 2015
Windows OS and Software Video converter that supports Intel Quick Sync Jul 5, 2015
Windows OS and Software Raspberry Pi2 to support Win10 (free license) Feb 2, 2015
Windows OS and Software Lenovo X230 Windows 10 Support Jan 14, 2015
Windows OS and Software Microsoft Ends Mainstream Support For Windows 7 Jan 13, 2015

Share This Page