Aero 15 OLED (2021) Stock 3060 vbios

Discussion in 'Gigabyte and Aorus' started by minidplover, Sep 13, 2021.

  1. minidplover

    minidplover Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I bought a used Aero 15 that was pre-modded with the 130w gpu bios. Its a great laptop, EXCEPT the mini-dp port isnt working. I suspect the modded bios is the reason.

    I cant find the stock bios anywhere. If someone is able to provide it that would be great! Thanks.

    Edit: I ran this bios and is 105w and seems compatible https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/232683/232683
    displayport issue was a driver issue. DDU + game ready driver sorted it out
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2021
  2. kakashisensei

    kakashisensei Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Here is my stock 3060 vbios, same aero 15 kd 2021 laptop.
    https://www42.zippyshare.com/v/e64eFm8k/file.html

    This one I am using now and I like it more than the stock one. Its a 100+15watt dynamic boost from the aorus 15p 2021 model. Hdmi and displayport are working, although I think I also had to reinstall drivers to get them to work. The dynamic boost isn't working correctly, but I am using this because I don't want to use dynamic boost. Didn't know that dynamic boost is drastically lowering the cpu speeds on heavy game titles like RDR2. In some cases the cpu speed drops down to 2.6ghz. Most of the time the cpu is the in low 3ghz range. This creates some bad 1% lows for fps. The 100watt limit on this helps alot. My 3060 with a custom voltage curve (1770mhz @ 0.8v) can stay at this level while the cpu stays at 4.2ghz, with dynamic boost off. With the stock vbios, once it gets to 90watts, the gpu dynamically drops by up to 150mhz.
    https://www66.zippyshare.com/v/P61zhKA6/file.html

    Btw, is the vbios that you found 105watt with dynamic boost, or 105watt without?
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2021 at 11:49 AM
  3. minidplover

    minidplover Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I dont know if its with or without dynamic boost. How do I check?
     
  4. DanielNTX

    DanielNTX Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    68
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    41
    How do you do a custom voltage curve?

    I used this 3060 vBIOS for 130-watt TGP (it came from an ASUS ROG): https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/233524/233524

    My 3D Mark Time Spy score went from 8200 to 8506.
     
  5. DanielNTX

    DanielNTX Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    68
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    41
  6. kakashisensei

    kakashisensei Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    41
    In control center, turn on/off dynamic boost in the ai section. Then using gpu-z, run the render test and look at the power consumption in the sensors tab. With dynamic boost on, it should be hitting about 15watts higher. That was great and all, until I found out that was the reason why the cpu was heavily downclocking in some intensive titles like RDR2. Nvidia laptop dynamic boost supposedly uses ai to determine when the cpu is not needed as much, and tells the system firmware to throttle down the cpu, alotting more power to the gpu. I get better overall performance with my cpu at 4.2ghz and gpu at a custom undervolt, but my cpu does run a bit hotter.
     
  7. kakashisensei

    kakashisensei Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Does hdmi and display port still work for you with that vbios? You may need to reinstall nvidia drivers to make it work.

    Heres a video explaining how to custom curve with msi afterburner. What I recommend is to find the top frequency and voltage you want to limit it to, and make the curve not surpass that limit. In my case I set it to 1775mhz @ 0.8v. So I hold shift and drag select all the curve pts beyond 0.8v, and drag them all below 1775mhz. Then I just select the one curve pt on 0.8v, and move it up to 1775mhz. Once I hit apply, the curve is automatically fitted to a flat line on when it hits 1775mhz @ 0.8v. Some of the pts before 0.8v, will be re-fitted to ramp up to 1775mhz. I wouldn't want it to run at 1775mhz at say 0.6volts.


    Also, msi afterburner seems to drain battery life quite a bit, as it is probably keeping the dgpu awake. So I don't have msi afterburner run on startup, but I do have it apply the custom voltage curve on startup. This applies the custom curve every time I boot up, but msi afterburner won't be running. I have a shortcut to run msi afterburner manually if I want rtss overlay and such.
     
Loading...

Share This Page