[advice: new laptop] - I know it's another one...

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Zeratul, Jul 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zeratul

Zeratul Notebook Guru

Reputations:
    Hi everybody,

Yes, I know it's terrible to answer this kind of question, but I'm still not sure yet, even after researching for more than 3 months, and I'm not a beginner in computers, I just can't figure it out.

EQUIP: I have a toshiba satellite 1135-S1553 (Old one Celeron 2.4Ghz [xx(], but good 512 RAM DDR, when I bought it).

So, let's go to the point. This is what I need:

1- This is the main point: I want a light laptop (I don't even think about more than 6.5lbs). It's terrible to carry a "brick" around the campus.
    2- I'll need Wi-Fi network for my college/university. They use the standard 802.11g.
    3- I'll need, for sure, at least 128mb of dedicated video.
    4- If I can, I hope to get a good battery-life notebook (P-M ??), but it's not that important...
    5- Now, I think I'm too much a dreamer: I want to spend not more than US$1900.
    6- DVD-R/RW is not important at all.

Well, I was thinking about Compal (CL56). I considered other ODMs as well, like Quanta, Asus and Clevo. So, what do you think?

I'm going with this, by now:
    http://www.internetishop.com/product_detail.asp?item=CL56D17W

I hope I can help you guys in later posts (this is my first)

Good-bye, David.

------------------------
    Old one Toshiba 1135-S1553
    Celeron 2.4
    512 RAM DDR
    64 Intel shared video
    ------------------------

2. Brian

Brian Working at 486 Speed NBR Reviewer

Reputations: