Acer Laptop with Phoenix BIOS: BIOS MOD Request

Discussion in 'Acer' started by kizwan, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. searcher?

    searcher? Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hello kizwan,

    I have all my pictures smaller.
    Thanks again for your support!

    Greetings from Germany.
    :notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:
     
  2. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,502
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Enjoy the rest of the options. :) Only OverClocking Feature, Bus Speed Override & CPU VID Support doesn't do anything.
     
  3. samozen

    samozen Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    23
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    try to flash your original bios with hdd removed,i have flashed with bios and the process did not complet so i triedto boot from the usb but no luck it wont boot any more,so some friend told me to remove the hdd and flash again,i did that and the machine booted from usb and the flash was completed successfully,try flash with hdd removed may it will work.good luck
     
  4. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,502
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    106
    @samozen,

    He doesn't have problem with BIOS flash. He have problem with CPU Microcode Update & it have been fixed with new modified BIOS image.
     
  5. searcher?

    searcher? Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ok, great.
    It is also safe to overclock with programs, as in the BIOS.

    Thank you!

    :yes:Greetings from Germany:yes:
     
  6. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,502
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    106
    ####################################################
    (Update 23 February 2011)
    Use at your own risk!
    These are new modified BIOS image for Aspire 5740G. They are based on BIOS v1.28.
    1) Aspire 5740G BIOS_1.28 MOD.rar
    (MD5: 9003B6AF6210AFC9749A9B3BE7B259C8)
    • Unlocked hidden Intel section in BIOS menu

    2) Aspire 5740G BIOS_1.28 HD5470 850 950 MOD.rar
    (MD5: 77C05CC8C96B61C0391230C86740B6FE)
    • Unlocked hidden Intel section in BIOS menu
    • ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 overclocked (Core Clock 850MHz, Memory Clock 950MHz).

    (Update 18 April 2011)
    3) Aspire 5740G BIOS_1.28 HD5470 BOOT_UVD 850 950 MOD.rar
    (MD5: C5D2D54E923C2A1DBF90DF745541A66D)
    • Unlocked hidden Intel section in BIOS menu
    • ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 overclocked BOOT & UVD (Core Clock 850MHz, Memory Clock 950MHz).

    Make sure your notebook can recover corrupted BIOS with CRISIS disk. Use at your own risk!
    ####################################################

    This is modified BIOS images for Aspire 5740G with CPU Microcode Update for newer processor (CPUID 020655). It is based on BIOS v1.22. Use it at your own risk.
    Aspire 5740G BIOS_1.22 CPUID 020655 MOD.rar
    - This is for those who upgrade the processor but got the microcode error message
    - Unlocked hidden options
    - CPU Microcode Update for processor with CPUID 020655 (K0 stepping CPU)
    - CPU Microcode Update for processor with CPUID 020651 has been removed - I need the space for CPUID 020655

    This modified BIOS image only contain unlocked hidden options:-
    Aspire 5740G BIOS_1.22 MOD.rar
    - Unlocked hidden options

    Please make sure your notebook can recover corrupted BIOS with CRISIS disk before flashing BIOS with this modified BIOS image. I will not responsible for any problem. Good luck. :)
     
  7. MoInSTL

    MoInSTL Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    71
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    That was fast! Thanks for the heads up.
     
  8. compsavvy

    compsavvy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    @kizwan
    Just saw that you successfully modded BIOS for studio 1557.
    I was wondering of you could mod the BIOS for studio 1558. I am only looking for the hidden options(switchable graphics etc.) and no overclocking.
    It would be great if you mod a09 for me as a11 is causing some issues.

    a09-http://ftp.us.dell.com/bios/R279741.exe

    a11-http://ftp.us.dell.com/bios/R284826.exe

    oops! I just saw that you have already posted the modded bios.

    Just one question for you- Can you unlock the setting(if any) for switchable graphics or for enabling the disabled intel gma hd??
     
  9. BoxCat

    BoxCat Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi, i own acer aspire 5738G, with JV50, and when i try flash these modified bios, it wont do anything, i tryd R3, R2.. when it says: press any key to start process, i press any key - it just fastly show some 2 short lines , with ones i cant even read, cause closes up instantly (the terminal) and nothing happens. my laptop is plugged in to adapter, battery is 100% full, whats could be wrong?
    I would love to use these bios to disable speed step to get higher multiplyer then x11.
     
  10. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,502
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    106
    To support dual or switchable graphic cards, it require multiplexer. There is no multiplexer implemented on Studio 1558's motherboard. The output is connected directly to ATI graphic card. (I already checked the schematic)

    You'll need to flash BIOS in DOS mode, not in Windows Command prompt. Please refer to first post for further information.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page