1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Acer Laptop with Phoenix BIOS: BIOS MOD Request

Discussion in 'Acer' started by kizwan, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. keaheng

    keaheng Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thx bro :) I'll refresh this page every 1hour
     
  2. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    When I wrote "I'll mod it later", the "later" word usually means when I have free time. Please check back on end of next week. Thank you.
     
  3. keaheng

    keaheng Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    okay.. better than never :)

    Thx bro..
     
  4. 1nn0s

    1nn0s Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello kizwan,

    I have Acer Aspire 5930g with 1.23 BIOS version, Windows 7 x64
    I re-built the BIOS, but it looks very strang for me:

    The parameters 'System Time' and 'System Date' were duplicated, and the additional IDE/SATA tabs were added to the Main tab.

    The Modified (EGR-123M.ROM), Original BIOS versions and sceenshots of the Setups, Emulations are located here:

    https://rapidshare.com/files/23804416/BIOS_1.23_MODIFIED_5930G.zip

    Could you advice or point me - what can be wrong?

    Please inform me if any additional information is required from my side.
    Thank you in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. 1nn0s

    1nn0s Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    kizwan,

    In addition : how can I unhide/unblock the 'Intel' tab/sub-menues for my BIOS. I'd like to play with these configurations :) . If it was already somewhere described - point me please to the manual or FAQ (the similar way of "digging" will also be useful).

    Best regards.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Sorry, I unable to teach you now. Maybe later. Anyway, pay attention to hexadecimal for "System Date" & "System Time". Sometime it is repeated. Just need to replaced the extra "System Date" & "System Time" with "00 00". Look in my Aspire 5930 modified BIOS for clue.
    Please follow this (start from "UPDATE") & then this simple explanation on how to make the "Intel" section visible. Look in this post how to use SYMCMOS.EXE. The alternative is to patch "mov ax,13h" to "mov ax,0".
     
  7. 1nn0s

    1nn0s Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    kizwan,

    =====
    It seems that I did not recieve your reply when was typing this post.
    Thanks for the links. I'll try them :)
    =====

    I possibly found the root of this case:

    System time is 'b7 1'6 - it is duplicated here when I am trying to replace '00 00' with 'f7 13' (Including the menu header, the offset for “Intel(R) Virtualization Technology” menu is f7 13) in the indicated boxes ('00 00 00 00 00 00'). The replacing of '00 00' before and after this selected area did not bring any successfull results (the VT option was added to 'Information' tab and caused the mess in this tab). The mentioned screenshots attached (the sceenshot of BIOS 'after selected area' did not change anything in the BIOS configuration, so it was not attached).

    There is only one way - to add this VT option to another Tab - into Information (in other place of this tab), Security, of Boot tabs ?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. zezinhocrack

    zezinhocrack Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    After installing Biosmod, I found that to enable VT-x/virtualization, detects the operating system normally, but when the notebook goes into sleep mode automatically disables the VT, I saw something that can be in Standby (S3).

    Any idea??


     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2015
  9. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
  10. Shauno_Megane

    Shauno_Megane Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  11. Patrck_744

    Patrck_744 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    427
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Hey, thank you so much. I'll report back after I flashed it.
     
  12. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Sorry for the delay. This is modified BIOS for Extensa 5235. It's based on BIOS 3311 (downloaded from Acer website). Use at your own risk!
    Extensa 5235 BIOS 3311 MOD.rar
    (MD5: C6BAC36A4EBE48085116E97290715E6F)

    Changes:-

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Please make sure your notebook can recover corrupted BIOS with CRISIS disk before flashing BIOS with this modified BIOS image. I will not responsible for any problem. Good luck. :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2015
  13. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    I already modded Dell Studio XPS 1640 BIOS A15 earlier this month when a friend asked me whether there are useful hidden menu in it. I already modded, I might as well share it here. As always - Use at your own risk!
    Dell Studio XPS 1640 A15 MOD.rar
    (MD5: 47F832BD2FA421B15CE5DBA6CEB75B69)

    Changes:-
    • Unlocked hidden sub-menus.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Please make sure your notebook can recover corrupted BIOS with CRISIS disk before flashing BIOS with this modified BIOS image. I will not responsible for any problem. Good luck.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2015
  14. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Sorry, back then I'm unable to assist you properly because I'm little busy. I hope the modified BIOS I gave you were able to help you understand it better. If you have any question, just ask.
    Sorry, I don't understand. It is known that some Dell notebook have buggy BIOS where the settings are reset to default caused by unknown reason/source. Try load default in BIOS then save & exit and then shutdown the notebook. After a couple of seconds, power on your notebook, enter BIOS & change the settings you preferred, for example enable VT-x and then save & exit. Shutdown the computer. See whether the problem still persist or not.
    The modified BIOS was removed because the image is corrupted.
     
  15. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Sorry for the delay. This is modified BIOS image for Extensa 4620z. It's Based on BIOS v1.33. Use at your own risk! Please provide feedback.
    Extensa 4620z BIOS v1.33 MOD.rar
    (MD5: 890B194071673AAF4F84FFF901309A8E)

    Compatible models:-
    Changes:-
    • Unlocked hidden sub-menus

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Please make sure your notebook can recover corrupted BIOS with CRISIS disk before flashing BIOS with this modified BIOS image. I will not responsible for any problem. Good luck. :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2015
  16. muater

    muater Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am search a Mod BIOS for my 8473 (TG) :)

    Travelmate 8473TG: v1.13
     
  17. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    TravelMate 8473TG notebook use Phoenix UEFI. UEFI is not supported at the moment.
     
  18. Nemoaristos

    Nemoaristos Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi Kizwan, I'm using the 3303 mod bios for Acer Aspire 6530 however on the "Internal Graphics Configuration" I am unsure as to what part increases the VRAM past 256 megs as it is still locked on the normal main page - Can you instruct me how to increase the Video Ram using your BIOS Mod?
     
  19. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Hi Nemoaristos, look like you can't increase the shared video memory. Did you try change the "UMA Frame Buffer Size"?
     
  20. keaheng

    keaheng Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    A MILLIONS THX BRO.. :) thank you!!!!!!!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page