Acer ePower management

Discussion in 'Acer' started by lastat, Feb 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lastat

    lastat Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hi,
    Is there any reasons for using ePower management?
    I have Vista 64bit installed on Acer6935G and I do not use the software, but maybe I am missing something without it.
    I found a few posts about the same, but is not clearly stated that the software is really important.
    What do you think about it?

    Lastat
     
  2. TeeJay 44

    TeeJay 44 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running XP and have always used ePower Management.

    It (among other things) allows the user to control stuff like either switching on: Wireless LAN, Bluetooth, Firewire etc. at bootup or leaving them off.

    Choice is yours and easily accesed via a simple interface.

    And it allows proper settings of various power schemes depending on if you are using a battery or mains power. It allows you to set screen brightness as well depending on the power scheme you have chosen.

    I find ePowerManagement both simple and a usefull tool to have on my lappie.

    Cheers,
    Theo
     
  3. lastat

    lastat Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    TeeJay 44,
    Thx for your reply. Actually in my laptop epower menagement does not have any Wireless LAN, Bluetooth, Firewire options.
    Looks like all is avaiable also from Vista power management.
    So, beside what you said, if i do not install the Acer soft will I miss any functionality of my laptop?

    Lastat
     
  4. TeeJay 44

    TeeJay 44 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In your case, keeping it will not be of any use as Vista gives you the choices anyway..

    Edit: I forgot.....Leave Launch Manager installed or at least intact. Allows you to change things like screen brightness etc. using the keyboard.

    Cheers,
    Theo
     
  5. roycextensa

    roycextensa Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Teejay, I see that you are using XP instead of VISTA.
    I have a 4420-5910 and I removed Vista and loaded XP.
    The download sites for epower Mgmt show it for VISTA, not XP.
    Does the VISTA version work OK with XP?
    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  6. TeeJay 44

    TeeJay 44 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really don't know about Vista.....maybe someone else can help here??

    Cheers,
    Theo
     
  7. roycextensa

    roycextensa Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I loaded the epower mgmt files from acer-panam.
    I'm running XP on my Extensa 4420-5910.
    When i run the epower I get an error message
    "The procedure entry point RegisterPowerSettingNotification could not be located in the dynaic link library USER32.dll"

    Can anyone tell me what this all means?
     
  8. ATG

    ATG 2x4 Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,382
    Likes Received:
    243
    Trophy Points:
    131
  9. x64Man

    x64Man Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What I found on my 8930 with ePower Management installed an controlling the power management of the notebook I could easily get 30 to 40 minutes longer out of a full charge on my battery. I chalk this up to ePower Management dialing back the video card when on battery more so than when Vista is controling the power management. Someone can correct me if I am wrong. Vista with ePower Management even beats Win7 and it's so called better battery performance.
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page