Acer Aspire One Display Problem

Discussion in 'Acer' started by resputant, Jul 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. resputant

    resputant Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi folks...

    having a problem with my acer aspire one netbook...
    the scene is that i bought a netbook cupl of months ago
    the 8Gb hard and 512mb ram version...
    and yesterday i got a new 1GB Ram to install in it... for that i found out a video on youtube about how to do it...
    opend up the laptop, had a bit of hard time to install it and put it back all together again and working again... now every thing is working fine.. the laptop detected the new ram, the hard is working, the webcam and the wifi, all are working good...
    now the problem that i m having is that after installing the new ram, the display of my laptop is not proper... i mean to say that .. lets say that the size of the netbook screen is 9 inches x 6 inches... only 7x6 area from the left is corner is workin and the display is visible... i can see the display perfectly fine on that area.. the thing is that only 7x4 area from the top left corner is the real display.. the remaining 2x4 area below that area repeats the same windows display again...
    also that the display screen is not showing the fulll display.. it only shows the area of the display that covers the screen 7x4 area... if i want to see the start bar or the right side of the display, i have to move the mouse to that area and then the view scrolls ....
    please help me with it.. i juz bought that netbook for my study... and cant afford any damages to it..plz help...
    u may ask any thing if u dont get what my problem is...
    thanx...
     
  2. resputant

    resputant Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ok you guys... never mind..
    juz re-oppend it... fixd the display cable.. and for now its workin gud... perfect...
     
  3. distropia

    distropia Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well, I have exactly the same problem: Acer Aspire One a110 with 512mb ram. After installing the memory (samsung 512mb sodimm 667mhz but ram test said "it's OK") and look that the screen "shrunk", I have tried the following:

    - Upgraded the BIOS (nothing happens to the screen)
    - Tried another BIOS
    - Connected an external monitor (it shows all correctly on it, even at 1024x768 so is not a problem on the VGA)
    - Tried all the possible combinations of Fn+F5
    - Tried different OS's (but if I get screen shrunk even on the BIOS screen, there's nothing to do with drivers or OS's)
    - Disconnect the cable that connects the mainboard with the flat panel and with the help of a tester, I have tested EVERY SINGLE LINE of cable. All seems to be OK, but the screen still is at 3/4 of its real size...

    So... I am really lost. Maybe, at the moment of removing the VGA cable to install the RAM, some electrostatic electricity entered to the flat panel circuitry. The even stranger thing is: at some moment the problem disappeared, but after some days it came back.
    So I ask you: Do your computer works well?

    Thank you for your response
     
  4. BStigsen

    BStigsen Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    @Distropia, I have had the exact same problem as you, also where the problem would sometimes disappear.
    I did as Resputant, I refitted the cable to the flat panel, and it worked fine after that.

    I would guess, it is just the cable connector, that is a bit bïtchy. I didn't experience any other problem with the computer.
     
  5. distropia

    distropia Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well... Finally the problem is gone! Thank you all! :D
    I have cleaned the screen connector with alcohol, and refitted the screen cable trying to match exactly the micro-pins of the connector.

    Thanks again, I saved $50 or more in buying a new screen. :)
    I hope this thread helps anyone that could have the same issue.
     
  6. TeeJay 44

    TeeJay 44 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's always the simple things :p

    I see it everyday.
     
Similar Threads: Acer Aspire
Forum Title Date
Acer ACER ASPIRE 5740 BIOS LOCATION Jun 12, 2015
Acer ACER Aspire 5740 dead after BIOS UPDATE Jun 10, 2015
Acer Acer Aspire V17 Nitro Jun 2, 2015
Acer Acer Aspire V3-772G fan direction May 31, 2015
Acer Acer Aspire 7735ZG 2rd HDD on motherboard May 27, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page