1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Acer Aspire 5755G Display

Discussion in 'Acer' started by AcerAspire5755g, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. AcerAspire5755g

    AcerAspire5755g Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    My current display can only support the resolution of 1366 X 768, and was wandering if its possible to upgrade my laptop screen to one which can support 1080p (Full HD)
    I found a link on Ebay which is a 15'6 display which supports full HD, but i'm not sure if it is compatible with the connectors on my laptop
    AUO B156HW01 V5 15 6 Full HD Laptop Screen | eBay
    This is my current screen:
    NEW ACER ASPIRE 5755G 15.6" LAPTOP LED SCREEN HD | eBay
    Incase you are wandering if my laptop supports HD this is my specifications of my laptop:
    Intel core i7-2670qm 2.2Ghz
    Nvidia gefore gt 630m with 2gb dedicated ram
    8gb ram
    1tb hard drive
    I'm really hoping this could be possible as the display is the only disapointing thing about this laptop
    Note: I'm not sure if posting links is against the rules as i have just registered so please inform me, thanks
     
  2. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,275
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,704
    It's not possible- this notebook is a single LVDS machine and you'd need two LVDS channels to support Full HD. Sorry.
     
  3. AcerAspire5755g

    AcerAspire5755g Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Is it possible to increase the resolution slightly with this new screen or would it not display when fitted?
     
  4. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,275
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,704
    It has only one LVDS channels so it would display only every second line- one proper, one empty etc.
    So no- you're stuck with the resolution you have.
     
  5. AcerAspire5755g

    AcerAspire5755g Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
  6. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,275
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,704
    Replacing a cable is not upgrading the notebook. Notebook has to support dual-LVDS in the first place.
     
  7. AcerAspire5755g

    AcerAspire5755g Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Would it be the motherboard that determines wither it supports dual LVDS?
     
  8. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,275
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,704
    Yes it is the mobo.
     
  9. AcerAspire5755g

    AcerAspire5755g Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
  10. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,275
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,704
    According to the service manual 5755G it has a 1 channel LVDS.
    The screen in the link doesn't even have a model number- it just lists a notebook model number. That is weird.
     

Share This Page