Acer Aspire 3680 internal dial-up modem

Discussion in 'Acer' started by nero29, Mar 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nero29

    nero29 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ok, I am normally very capable when it comes to computers and software, but this one is starting to stump me. I recently downgraded my girlfriends Acer Aspire 3680 from Vista to XP as it became apparent that this notebook couldn't handle vista well; (on a side note, this is the second aspire 3680 that I have downgraded). For some reason no matter what I do the computer does not see the internal dial-up modem. Now, as its internal there is no installation disc, I have downloaded 6 different acer aspire 3680 modem drivers from Acer support centers and not a single one worked. In the Device manager, the modem drop down is not even there. I ran the modem troubleshooter and it detected no port was found, but Ports weren't in the device manager either. This one is really stumping me and i'm tired of looking at that screen. Any ideas?
     
  2. nero29

    nero29 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    *bump* This modem thing is getting frakkin annoying >.<
     
  3. ATG

    ATG 2x4 Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,266
    Messages:
    4,394
    Likes Received:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Are there any "Unknown Device"s in the Device Manager? Are there any devices with "?"/"!" mark?
     
  4. meegulthwarp

    meegulthwarp Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    30
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Check for Unknown Devices as ATG mentioned, if there is nothing then you might want to check that the modem is turned on in the BIOS. I don't see how it could have turned off in the downgrade but checking shouldn't hurt.

    Also, my 3680 uses "Agere Systems HDA Modem" and I downloaded that driver off the main Acer site. The link is here (European Acer Site) and the Agere Modem is down at the bottom of the XP drivers list. Have you tried that one?
     
  5. nero29

    nero29 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    tried every driver on several of acers sites. How would I check if the modem is on in the bios?
     
Similar Threads: Acer Aspire
Forum Title Date
Acer ACER ASPIRE not powering on Jul 14, 2015
Acer Acer Aspire 8930G sudden random power loss and shutdown[solved] Jul 8, 2015
Acer Acer Aspire 5560 Battery Issue Jul 6, 2015
Acer New Acer Aspire VN7 591, is it suppose to be that hot? Jul 6, 2015
Acer ACER ASPIRE 5740 BIOS LOCATION Jun 12, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page