A new laptop for someone who likes to hang on to their devices forever

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by pg90, Oct 17, 2020.

1. pg90

pg90 Newbie

Reputations:
    I like to keep my technology as long as possible and repair it myself, so serviceability, build quality, and widespread long-term availability of parts are very important. Futureproofing/upgradability is a plus.

I've been using an awful Dell Studio 1555 since 2009. Almost none of the components are original anymore, and some have been replaced multiple times. The biggest headache has been the cheap plastic chassis; I'm tired of pieces of brittle plastic snapping off on what seems like a weekly basis. My power button is missing and I have to short two wires together to start the computer. Sometimes the wires get stuck together and the computer shuts off while I'm using it.

Sinking money into upgrading components in a flimsy chassis isn't worthwhile and I'm also limited by the mobo and integrated graphics no matter what I do. I have developed the patience of a god waiting for my machine to complete difficult tasks like booting, starting Firefox, and loading media-rich web pages. I know it's time for a new laptop because I am questioning my sanity.

Any new machine will probably blow me away, but I'm under the impression that business laptops might best suit my needs because they are designed to be (relatively) durable and serviceable. I'm aware of the Thinkpad vs Latitude vs EliteBook debate but I haven't figured out where I stand on it. I've heard that Thinkpads are on the decline and might be overhyped. I've heard good things about Clevo. I'm open to wildcard/lesser known brands that compete in the same market segment.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    $2,000 USD, perhaps more. My concern is less budgetary and more value for $. I'm willing to pay for something that will last commensurately long or save me a lot of trouble.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?