9550 throttling woes making the machine almost unusable :(

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by CraftyClown, Oct 13, 2017.

1. CraftyClown

CraftyClown Notebook Geek

Reputations:
    Hey guys,

I'm almost at my wits end here. I'm a video editor who purchased the Dell 9550 after hearing recommendations that it was a good laptop for Premiere editors. Sadly excessive throttling is causing it to be anything but.

When I render anything out of Premiere TDP throttling kicks in after about 5 minutes and within another 5 minutes it's down to 1ghz and stays there until the encoding is stopped.

I have re-pasted and replaced my thermal pads and I have also undervolted to -1.25 for the core and cache and -0.95 for the iGPU with Throttlestop. My idle temps are about 31 degrees which seems fairly good.

So what gives? Surely 5 minutes of load isn't enough to send this machine into a complete nose dive.

I feel like I must be missing something obvious, but I can't seem to see the wood for the trees :(

[​IMG]

2. Arrrrbol

Arrrrbol Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    Your CPU shouldn't be throttling at 82 degrees, this sounds like a power issue to me. I don't know much about that specific laptop but it sounds to me like either your VRM is overheating or your power supply is dodgy.

CraftyClown likes this.
  3. Arrrrbol

Arrrrbol Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    Mr. Fox, CraftyClown and don_svetlio like this.
  4. GoNz0

GoNz0 Laptop Engineer & Online games hosting.

Reputations:
    I'm putting a fiver on the pad replacement being an issue.

CraftyClown and pressing like this.
  5. Danishblunt

Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    What kind of re***d would put mosfets and chokes right next to the CPU and GPU.And I thought Clevo is bad at designing cooling solutions, this is next level awfulness.

Yeah this is NOT a CPU problem, 82c is totally fine especially when rendering something.

CraftyClown and Arrrrbol like this.
  6. pressing