8GB ram in UMBP

Discussion in 'Apple and Mac OS X' started by J12, Jul 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J12

    J12 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I have a 2.4ghz Unibody Macbook with the 9400/9600, user replaceable battery and express card slot. Will there be any problems if I put 2x4gb ddr3 1333mhz ram in my laptop? The person selling the ram says its new in box made by dell.
     
  2. chris2k5

    chris2k5 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I don't see an issue.
     
  3. haquocdung

    haquocdung Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    207
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    That is not a problem technical wise. However, it is sales issues. Not many people out there can utilize 8gb ram or not willing to pay the premium for 8gb ram. IMO, sell them individually (the mac and rams) is easier.
     
  4. chris2k5

    chris2k5 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    @_@ I think the OP meant if it was just technically possible to put the 8GB in. I don't think he is selling his Macbook nor the 8GB.
     
  5. AznFlamer

    AznFlamer Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The Ram will be compatible with your macbook.
     
  6. haquocdung

    haquocdung Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    207
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Oh I just re-read the thread OP.
    Well, my bad, I should stop open multiple threads at once :).

    Yeah, like everyone said, it's not a problem.
     
  7. LedCop

    LedCop Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    6
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm gonna have to disagree with everyone here. I believe there will be issues.

    The reason being that the late 2008 unibody MacBook Pros (of which I think yours is one) aren't equipped with the firmware or circuitry needed to accommodate 8GBs of RAM. Your Mac may very well boot into the OS, and "Activity Monitor" will show 8GBs of RAM, but the moment you cross the 4GB of RAM used threshold, the OS will start to fall apart; slowdowns, crashes, etc. And that's assuming the 1333 MHz RAM doesn't make the Mac choke at boot first -- Macs are so picky with RAM they sometimes can't even down-clock the RAM to make it usable.

    6GBs seems to work fine, though. And if you have a stock piece of RAM at 1066 MHz and a new one at 1333 MHz, the Mac *MIGHT* down-clock the latter to make things work, but don't quote me on that.

    Hope this helps.


    New MacBook Pro Does Not Support 8GB RAM (for now) - Mac Rumors

    New Macbook Late 2008 Supports up to 8gb ram - Mac Forums

    8GB unstable using OSX Leopard on my MacBook Pro Lee Dale
     
  8. unnamed01

    unnamed01 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    194
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Isn't the max ram for late 2008 uMBPs 6GB? Like LedCop said there could be problems.
     
  9. AznFlamer

    AznFlamer Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I'm sorry, i failed to realize his was a late 2008 model. I agree with you.
     
  10. keson

    keson Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have to confirm...

    This is my experience with 1333 Mhz memory on MacBook Pro.

    I had MBP 13" late 2009 and I was using 2x4 GB 1333 MHz RAM in it for a year. No problem at all. System profiler says it is running on 1333 MHz.

    Now I got a new MBP 13 early 2010 and I wanted to place my RAM in it but it does not boot. In verbose mode I see it stops before loading kexts. I have tried reseting everything - nvram, pram, smc... No success. MacBook Pro 13" early 2010 DOES NOT SUPPORT 1333 MHz RAM. Tested with Transcend.

    P.S. I tested combination with 1066 - it works as they bot run on 1066 then.
    Bad news though. :mad:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page