1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

8gb in Dell Latitude D830

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by pitz, Jun 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pitz

    pitz Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    So Dell is now advertising the M6300 with 8gb capability (2 x 4gb DIMMS). As far as I understand, the M6300 uses the Intel PM965 chipset, the D830 uses the Intel GM965.

    According to Intel, they both 'only' support 4gb:

    http://compare.intel.com/pcc/showchart.aspx?mmID=28117,28116&familyID=7&culture=en-US


    So is there a fairly good probability that the D830 would also support 8gb if 2 x 4gb DIMMS were installed?

    Anyone tried? Obviously 4gb laptop DIMMS aren't easy parts to obtain right now..
     
  2. CeeNote

    CeeNote Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    It looks like the motherboard is limited to 4gigs of ram so you won't be able to use more than that.
     
  3. pitz

    pitz Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I know thats what Dell 'officially' says, but the purpose of my inquiry was to find out whether or not anyone had independantly verified that by actually attempting to install 4gb SO-DIMMS.

    Dell might not be marketing the D830 as an 8-gb capable solution because they want to sell their more expensive M6300 model to high end users who want 8gb.
     
  4. EricD

    EricD Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    As we speak i am running a Latitude d830 with 6 GB of Ram, I tried two banks of 4 (so a total of 8 GB) but it does not boot....
    so it looks like there is a limit, but it is at least 6GB...
     
  5. pitz

    pitz Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hmmm.. BIOS limitation? Any idea if it matters which slot you use for the 4gb module?
     
  6. EricD

    EricD Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It does not matter, I have two 4 GB modules, I tried both in both slots and as soon as I hit the 8 GB, the machine does not boot.... maybe a new version of the Bios will do the trick ( I am at the newest now, so I'll wait for the next one...)
     
  7. pitz

    pitz Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ah okay. Well at least there's not much of an incentive to me to upgrade to Montevina now. Its looking like there will be a decent CPU upgrade path for my machine as well if that 'end' of it gets too slow..

    Once again, thanks.. I'm assuming you have the DIMMS kickin around so you can try again in the future, right?
     
  8. jfdsadcnsjza

    jfdsadcnsjza Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    EricD, I was in exactly the same situation with a Precision M4300 (essentially the same as the Latitude D830). I would love to know details of your situation.

    1. I assume those are the Kingston 4gb DIMM modules
    2. Since Kingston lists them on their web site as being compatible with the D830, are they giving you any help from their support to try to make this work?
    3. Have you opened a support case with Dell, and wht was their response?

    I opened a suport case with Dell and they said that 4gb was the most RAM officially supported in a M4300. I was running out of my window to return the laptop so I returned it. I did not have the advantage of the M4300 being listed as compatible on the Kingston site. I was hoping someone would get this to work with a Dell 15.4" screen model and post the details. I assume it is somehting that Dell could address by way of a BIOS revision but I am not sure. My choices now are to either order a M6300 or wait another few days and get one of the E series latitudes. I am eagerly waiting on pricing for the E series to make that decision.

    Thanks in advance for any additional insight.
     
  9. ms1974

    ms1974 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    I have just received 2 x Kingston 4GB SODIMMS and have installed into a Dell D630 (as Kingston indicates this model supports 8GB). KTD-INSP6000B/4G is the part number.

    The behaviour I have experienced is that the progress bar on the initial Dell splash screen is very very slow... in fact, it hasn't completed yet and it's been moving along for over 45 minutes.

    EricD, is this the behaviour you were experiencing on the D830?

    FWIW, I have tried both 4GB SODIMMS independently and in both slots and can confirm that the machine recognises the 4GB module.
    Also note that I have updated the BIOS to A12 - which was released in June 08.

    I will leave it for another hour or so to see if anything changes (i'm perservering with the slow boot as i've noticed that any hardware changes on the D630 result in an initial slow boot followed by normal speed boots).. so am crossing my fingers in the hope that IF this gets to the end, subsequent boots may be ok...

    Failing all that, I guess i'll try with 6GB to see if my experience is similar to the above.

    Cheers
     
  10. ms1974

    ms1974 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi All,

    Just a quick update. With 8GB installed, the laptop never got past the progress bar on the post screen... so I assume a BIOS update in the future from Dell will give the machine the capability to see 8GB. - Certainly the motherboard is supposed to support it.

    Installed 6GB, and after a couple of restarts (for some reason it didn't work on the initial startup), the machine got past the POST, prompted me to say memory had changed and proceeded to work from then on.

    I've now installed Vista 64bit and all seems to be fine with 6GB.

    Cheers
     
  11. pitz

    pitz Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Dell just posted BIOS version A13 to the website. Among the new features include "Improved 4gb Memory Support".

    This might finally allow for 8gb.
     
  12. EricD

    EricD Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I can confirm that the new Bios (a13) enables 8GB in the d830... the first time it oots very slow (progress bar) but after that it works like a charm...

    :D I am soooo happy...

    Eric
     
  13. pitz

    pitz Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Awesome :)
     
  14. Greg

    Greg Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,857
    Messages:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Can you verify that the Task Manager (NOT the Computer Property screen) shows ~8GB available?

    Santa Rosa laptops have a hard 4GB limit last I checked...could you run CPU-Z as well to verify the chipset?
     
  15. EricD

    EricD Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I can, attached is a screenshot of my taskmanager...
     

    Attached Files:

  16. EricD

    EricD Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    and here are the CPU-Z screenshots...

    enjoy like I am enjoying My laptop...

    I use Hyper-V on it, So I know there are sometimes cosmetic things happening, but I have tried to fill up the mem of my laptop, and I went way beyond the 7GB mark.

    Eric
     

    Attached Files:

  17. avicenna77

    avicenna77 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    EricD,

    Sounds like we have similar interests. I have a D830 also and am interested in using virtualization more (esp. VMWare, but I wanted to try HyperV also), but one of the limitations I've always faced was insufficient memory. With the info in your posts, this might no longer be a problem!

    A few questions:
    1) What kind of 4gb SODimm's did you get? Last I checked, I couldn't find any for less than $479/each.
    2) You mentioned that "there are sometimes cosmetic things happening". Could you elaborate? Have you encountered any significant problems/glitches after the upgrade to 8gb?
    3) Do you use hibernation on your D830? Does hibernation still work after the upgrade? Or is it just a bit slower since it needs to save/read more info to/from disk when it hibernates/wakes up?

    Thanks in advance,
    John
     
  18. Greg

    Greg Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,857
    Messages:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Oh, that is nice.
     
  19. f4ding

    f4ding Laptop Owner

    Reputations:
    261
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Somebody in another thread pointed to a GSkill RAM 4GB stick for $199.
     
  20. JoshFink

    JoshFink Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Can you point me to the GSKill part numbers?

    Thanks

    Josh
     
Similar Threads: Dell Latitude
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude 2100 how to tell if it has touchscreen Jan 18, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude e6410 shutting down at random after minutes of use Jan 2, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude E5440 - Optical Bay Hard Drive Parts Dec 3, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude E5440 permanent Fn key? Nov 28, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude E5440 Windows 8 issue Nov 26, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page