1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

6GB RAM vs. 8GB RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Wolfborne, May 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wolfborne

    Wolfborne Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    I am not a gamer and I don't do anything really intensive on a computer. I understand how RAM works, but for moderate use would there be any real benefit to upgrading the RAM to 8GB from 6GB, other than going from 3 DIMMs x 2GB to 2 DIMMS x 4GB?

    Do any programs have problems with 3 DIMMs x 2 GB setups?
     
  2. Karamazovmm

    Karamazovmm Overthinking? Always!

    Reputations:
    2,358
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,438
    the xps 15 have 2 slots only

    there are so few laptops that can pack more than 2 slots
     
  3. phanpride

    phanpride Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    you should upgrade to ssd u wont notice too much of a difference with ram upgrade
     
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    661
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,357
    Moving from 6-8GB of RAM will give you very very little improvement, especially in your situation. If you're looking for an upgrade see if a SSD fits in your budget.
     
  5. HTWingNut

    HTWingNut Mostly Harmless...

    Reputations:
    20,813
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32,490
    Even if you are not a gamer, really depends on your RAM usage. Are you a heavy multitasker or do you like to keep lots of programs open simultaneously? Do you use virtual machines or edit lots of photos and video? And I don't think you can do 3 dimms, it's either 1,2, or 4 slots. You're better off getting a 4GB stick, removing one of your 2GB ones and have 6GB that way.
     
  6. sgogeta4

    sgogeta4 Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,389
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,541
    The only notebooks with 3 SODIMM slots use desktop CPUs. 99% of notebooks have only 2 slots and for a 6GB configuration, it's 1x2GB and 1x4GB. But for moderate use, you won't notice any difference between 6GB and 8GB.
     
  7. KCETech1

    KCETech1 Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,495
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,840
    incorrect, my Elitebook 8740W uses a laptop CPU and has 4 slots for up to 32 GB as do a couple of the Dell mobile workstations and other Elitebooks.


    to the OP I agree that in MOST cases for now 6GB is sufficient and if you wanted to speed up your machine a good SSD is the way to go. as for how the ram woul work I would try to post the question in th applicable manufacturrs forum and see if any one has tried it. I can see no reason why 2 x 4GB should not work fine unless it requires tri channel on the DDR3 as some desktops do.
     
  8. HTWingNut

    HTWingNut Mostly Harmless...

    Reputations:
    20,813
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32,490
    I think he meant 3 slot configuration, which would be the triple channel DDR3 and that is ONLY on socket 1156 / 1366 Core i desktop CPU's. No mobile motherboard / CPU were made to use triple channel. Most notebooks up to 15" only have 2 slots, some 15" have four, but most 17" and larger have four. Mine does, and have 4x4GB, considering how cheap DDR3 laptop RAM is.
     
  9. KCETech1

    KCETech1 Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,495
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,840
    I thought there were a couple of them with tri channel, I have seen units marked with 12GB and would suspect 3 x 4GB on those because 8's are VERY expensive as my sig may tell you
     
  10. HTWingNut

    HTWingNut Mostly Harmless...

    Reputations:
    20,813
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32,490
    What units? It could be two 4GB and two 2GB.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page