4GB or 6GB

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by jejjohnson, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jejjohnson

    jejjohnson Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    If the option were available..should I customize my incoming lappy from 4Gb to 6GB?

    Does it really make a difference??

    I do multitask...but not that much. And i do play games..but none of my games are going to be that demanding
     
  2. tovani

    tovani Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Pick up 4GB of Ram and upgrade 6GB of Ram later if necessary or maybe some softs & games would demand it in the future ^^!
     
  3. allfiredup

    allfiredup Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,480
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Anything over 4GB is overkill at this point. In the future, there may be a need for more 6GB or even 8GB, but current programs (even with several running simultaneously) don't need more than 3-4GB.

    There are only 2-slots for RAM in a laptop. If you order 4GB, it is configured at two 2GB modules. If you order 6GB, it would be one 2GB module and one 4GB module, which is very expensive still. A 2GB module can be had for $25 or less but 4GB modules are priced well over $200 each! The wise choice would be to get 4GB now and, if you ever need more in the future, you can get it when prices have fallen. :)
     
  4. FrankTabletuser

    FrankTabletuser Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    274
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If you don't know if it makes a difference then it won't make a difference because you don't use programs which could benefit from so much RAM.
     
  5. blabus

    blabus Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What about for programs such as Photoshop? I thought you could configure Photoshop to use as much RAM as you want. I would have thought that working with huge Photoshop documents, you would benefit from the extra memory. (Or if Photoshop can't use 6GB, maybe you could set it to use 4GB, and still have a full 2GB for the rest of your system.)

    EDIT: Ah, that's interesting. I just searched around on the web regarding Photoshop and its RAM usage. Apparently, the application can only 'talk' to 3GB of RAM, but Photoshop will use the remaining RAM as a scratch disk, until it fills it all up, at which point it switches to your hard drive(s). So, while the program can't actually communicate directly with all the RAM, it can use the extra as a sort of ultra-fast SSD to store your working documents on. Pretty cool.
     
  6. anothergeek

    anothergeek Equivocally Nerdy

    Reputations:
    668
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    4GB is already more than most users ever need ;)
     
  7. blabus

    blabus Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Although 4GB RAM is often useful for splitting up between different parts of the OS- i.e. as I said in the above post, dedicating 2GB just to Photoshop, or if you're using a Mac with VMWare/Parallels, splitting the RAM so that each operating system gets a full 2GB.
     
  8. __-_-_-__

    __-_-_-__ God

    Reputations:
    326
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    bla bla bla over Xgb is overkill. Well it all depends how you use your pc. USUALLY over 4gb is overkill. for me it's not. it all depends. just games? 4gb is enough. and check prices. is it really worth it? and 4gb ddr3 prices are insane atm. ddr2 not so much.
     
  9. nizzy1115

    nizzy1115 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,557
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Just last year everyone was saying 2gb was right and 4gb was too much. Now that 4gb is affordable these people are saying 4gb is right and anything more is over kill. I disagree. Ive been running 8gb for a while now and the pc uses it. If you have the money get it. All the naysayers just cant afford it.
     
  10. rflcptr

    rflcptr Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I disagree, strongly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page