3g/4g in a Cf-31 for use in Australia

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by sunrk, Feb 17, 2018.

  1. sunrk

    sunrk Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    My Cf31 didn't come with a mobile broadband WAN card. No biggie.

    The one the seller normally had was an Ericsson job.

    What are your views on the best 3g/4g WAN setup for a CF31? It needs to be something that works in Australia with our Telco's here (Telstra, Optus and Vodafone tier-1 mobile network operators).

    BTW I popped into the BIOS today and saw the unit has logged just over 2000 hrs. The condition is basically like new. ;-)

    back to topic. I see there's a thing called Gobi 2000 which appears to have been an original OEM option, and the other one that pops up a lot is the Ericsson F5521GW but I read in another thread it has to have vendor-specific firmware (!). Does a Cf31 by default have antenna cabling for a WAN (3g and/or 4g) like it probably has for wi-fi?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
  2. gijoe4us

    gijoe4us Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    47
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Be very careful in searching and selecting a GOBI or other WWAN device. Here in NA, there are basically 3 providers, Sprint, AT&T, and Verizon. A lot of these cards are branded and locked. You have to find the one that fits your Telco service. As far as firmware, the Telco that provides the card, should have firmware updates specific to your model. Personally, GOBI 2000 works great and is super fast on my CF-19 MK IV.

    By the way, GOBI 2000 is one of the old ones. They have GOBI 3000 and 4000 out now, but these will not probably work on older model CF's......

    Hope this helps a bit......
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2018
  3. gijoe4us

    gijoe4us Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    47
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Just a follow up on your inquiry...

    Your CF number gives you the basic installed components. If you have your full CF-31 number, others may be able to tell you if it is WWAN cabled. Agan, double check those cards that people sell, I had to buy 3 until I got the Verizon one, albeit not expensive because 3g cards are older, just annoying!
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2018
  4. sunrk

    sunrk Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    My CF31 is a CF-31SFLAX1M.
     
  5. gijoe4us

    gijoe4us Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    47
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Type: Fully Rugged
    Status: Discontinued
    Model Number: CF-31SFLAX1M
    UPC Code: 885170093652
    MSRP, $: 4279
    Operating System: Windows 7 Pro
    CPU: Core i5-3320M 2.60GHz
    Touchscreen : Yes
    Display: 13.1" XGA Touch (1000 nit)
    Memory (RAM): 4GB
    Hard Drive: 500GB HDD (7200RPM)
    Wi-Fi: yes
    Keyboard: Standard
    GPS: No
    Bluetooth: Yes
    Wireless Broadband (WWAN): None
    Serial Port: Yes

    So, with this, you will have to find a kit to install the antenna's on the right and left of the Screen/cover. I would check to see which telco is the best and then look for a GOBI 2000 full field upgrade. You also need to make sure your BIOS is set for WWAN. If not, you will need to find a BIOS FLASH for this model like I did for the CF19.
     
  6. toughasnails

    toughasnails Toughbook Moderator Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,075
    Messages:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Well maybe..I would check first to see if they are there first. I know with the older models Toughbooks the antenna's were there, lines were run but just had tape on the ends. Do they still do this now I can't you. Don't own a 31.....yet
     
  7. sunrk

    sunrk Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Person who sold me the CF31 called me up during the week to say he might have located a new source of Panasonic-firmware equipped 3g/3.5g cards. What does Panasonic itself support/supply for adding 3g/4g into CF31's?
     
  8. gijoe4us

    gijoe4us Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    47
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    The new Panasonic website just went active! Argh!!!!
     
  9. sunrk

    sunrk Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ebay has a flood of Ericsson 5521gw cards ex Germany that are apparently for or removed from CF53's. Do or will these go straight into a CF31?

    Would fitting one interfere with or prevent the fitting of an aftermarket GPS kit like a Custom Toughbooks one?
     
  10. sunrk

    sunrk Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Anyone know any more about this? I've left it alone as I figured it was too difficult to sort out but as I don't think I can justify getting a new Toughpad FZ-A2 it's probably worth getting a 3g/4g card for the CF-31 and sticking the SIM out of my old (and basically useless) FZ-A1 into the CF-31.
     

Share This Page