1. Due to platform maintenance, the forum will be inaccessible for about 30 minutes beginning about 1:30 p.m. Sorry for any inconvenience! We'll remove this notice when work is complete.

32Bit Ram Patch for Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Fatal1ty39, Feb 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatal1ty39

    Fatal1ty39 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    hi did anyone try this software which patch the kernel allowing the 32bit windows version to utilize more than 4GB ram does it actually work

    best regards
     
  2. metril

    metril Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    420
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Um, you cannot patch the kernel to suddenly start utilizing more than 4GB of ram. You can enable a different memory mapping scheme that allows Windows to see more than 4GB of memory address space, but it will not utilize it.

    And what software?
     
  3. Fatal1ty39

    Fatal1ty39 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    26
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i'm talking about this one
     

    Attached Files:

  4. metril

    metril Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    420
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do not use it. You cannot magically patch the 32-bit kernel and magically allow the system to use more than 4GB of memory address space. It does not work that way. You can enable an option in 32 bit Windows that allows the system to see more than 4GB of RAM, but it will not be able to use it.
     
  5. Greg

    Greg Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,857
    Messages:
    16,219
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Bingo, this is utter foolishness. Enterprise 32-bit software allows the use of PAE to extend RAM support to beyond 4GB, but on consumer operating systems PAE's ability to do that is disabled (mostly for stability reasons).

    You want more than 4GB of RAM, you need to move to a 64-bit OS. Period.
     
  6. shakennstirred

    shakennstirred Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    don't you think if it was that easy Microsoft would do it
     
  7. metril

    metril Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    420
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Okay, I did a quick Google search on this patching nonsense. The OP does not understand at all what he/she is doing or is about to do.

    The "patch" is nothing but PAE mode. The consumer versions of Windows have the PAE mode limit hard coded into the kernel. The enterprise version of Windows do not. By enterprise, I mean the server versions of 32bit Windows and not the Business versions. The "patch" supposedly rewrites part of the kernel. This is plain stupid. If you mess with the kernel without knowing what you're doing, you're just asking for it. End of story.

    Windows is not meant to be messed with. Linux on the other hand is.
     
  8. chimpanzee

    chimpanzee Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    683
    Messages:
    2,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    PAE even it is enabled would not benefit 99% of the consumer applications out there. You need special coding to make use of it. One example I know is SQL server.

    So don't waste the time, a 32 bit OS is limited to 4GB addressing space. Any RAM beyond it(not those between 3-4 which is a mapping issue that PAE cannot help) needs special coding to use and is otherwise seen by no one but the OS and would not be utilized.
     
  9. Dufus

    Dufus Given Up

    Reputations:
    1,082
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I don't know about that software but yes, by a simple modification the 32-bit kernel will let you access the extra memory some 32-bit Windows systems from Vista onwards ignore. As Greg points out the restriction was due to some poorly written drivers but having done my own tests on Vista SP1, SP2 and W7 using different hardware configurations I never had a single issue so either I was very lucky or the problematic drivers are not as common then as they were with XP SP1 which allowed full use of 4GB of RAM. If I'm using a 32-bit OS I don't bother doing it since 32-bit applications will generally only use up to 2GB of memory so with 3GB+ of usable RAM that is usually plenty anyway as I don't need to run several large programs at once.

    Probably the simplest way to use the Windows ignored memory mapped above the 4GB physical address range is to use one of the RAMDisk softwares that have their own memory management to make use of it.

    Oh, and the PAE thing. That is nearly always enabled by default and is transparent to applications so no special coding is needed for them, it's only some of the drivers that use physical memory that need to be aware.
     
  10. Peon

    Peon Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    379
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The driver issue with PAE had something to do with drivers back in 2004 not understanding memory address spaces above 4 GB. As a result, when MS enabled PAE in XP SP2 (supposedly, DEP depends on PAE), they also hard coded the 4GB limit. However, virtually all drivers in 2011 are 64-bit compatible, so this is not much of an issue these days.

    Still, I don't see the point in doing this given how you can use both 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 7 with the same product key. If you buy the retail boxed (FPP) Windows 7, Microsoft even throws in both DVDs.
     
Similar Threads: 32Bit Patch
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software 128gb RAM on Windows 7 32bit Dec 31, 2011
Windows OS and Software Installing Windows 7 pro 32bit over a 64bit on Acer 7551 Oct 1, 2011
Windows OS and Software Should I install 32bit or 64bit Microsoft Office 2010? Aug 22, 2011
Windows OS and Software RAM upgrade = 32bit to 64bit? Jul 29, 2011
Windows OS and Software Java 32bit won't install but 64bit did just fine Jun 28, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page