1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

3 to 2 prong adapter?

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by communisthunter, Aug 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. communisthunter

    communisthunter Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Is it safe to use? I have an older house, so we only have 2 prongs around the house. Ive been using it for years, but am i making some sort of fire risk by doing so?
     
  2. Thaenatos

    Thaenatos Zero Cool

    Reputations:
    1,564
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299
    I wouldn't risk it. Personally I hate AC voltage as it scares the crap out of me...DC on the other hand is fine.
     
  3. Apollo13

    Apollo13 Vista Downgrader

    Reputations:
    1,408
    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2,408
    The risk by not having a ground line (third prong) is that if something shorts out (due to deterioration, lightning strike, etc.) it is more likely to be fried. And yes, the third prong slightly reduces the risk of an electrical fire. The third prong gives you a bit of extra safety not only for your dwelling, but for you electronics as well.

    However, it isn't like it's unsafe to use two-pronged stuff or sockets with only two prongs. Just think of all the toasters and lamps that only have two prongs. Even my notebook charger only has two prongs for that matter, and it's vintage 2007. Provided you can find a three-to-two adaptor, you should be just fine using a two-pronged cord and two-pronged socket.

    The two-pronged house does mean that your electrical system is kind of old and doesn't have all the recent safety features build in, and likely can't handle quite as much load as a new house of similar build could. But so long as you haven't noticed any unusual electrical occurency (frequent shorts for example) there's no need to rush out and redo the wiring. If it was well-built when it was made it may well still do just fine - my grandparents' house, for example, built in the 1920's, still has no electrical problems despite the two-pronged approach.
     
  4. JoeCHecht

    JoeCHecht Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    You are probably fine. You may want to look to see if there is a ground wire attached to the box that holds the plugs. If so, most of the "2 to 3" prong connectors have a little connector that fits under the screw to the switchplate (the screw connects the ground).

    If not, and you really want to have some warm fuzzies, get a grounding rod, hammer it into the ground, and run a ground wire to your favorite socket. I just did this yesterday for the inverters on our aux power system.

    Joe
     
  5. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    Plug your device into a quality surge protector/power strip, plus the power strip into the two prong adapter, plug the two prong adpater into your wall.

    There is usually either a little wire with a spade lug or a fixed in position spade lug on the two prong adapter. attach that to the screw that holds the faceplate on the wall outlet. While the chances that that is not grounded are high in an older house, it may give you some peace of mind.

    Another alternative, one I used in an older house myself once, is to attach the grounding wire from the two prong adapter to a grounding strap I firmly attached to an adjacent copper pipe.

    I actually have a grounding rod on the floor of my garage at this very moment. I once had intentions to use it, but did not. Be aware that they are eight or ten feet long and are pounded into the ground so that only four or six inches are above ground. Be darn certain what is below before doing that as it would be messy to pound it through the natural gas pipeline.
     
Similar Threads: prong adapter
Forum Title Date
HP & Compaq is it normal for HP repair to ask me to send both AC adapter and battery?? Feb 22, 2014
HP & Compaq Right Angle Power adapter Jul 18, 2012
HP & Compaq AC Adapter Mar 3, 2011
HP & Compaq Need 5GHz Wifi Adapter for my new TM2T-1100 Sep 17, 2010
HP & Compaq Instantly shuts down IF the ac adapter is not plugged in. Jun 25, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page