2MB Cache Vs. 4MB Cache

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by CptProletariat, Oct 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CptProletariat

    CptProletariat Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey, I'm sorry if this question sounds really stupid or if its been answered before. I know its been touched on in the forums already but I swear I've combed them trying to find an answer and tried google searching it and am still really confused.

    What exactly is the difference between a 2MB cache and a 4MB cache? I am currently buying a T60 laptop and the only two processor options offered are a T5500 and T7200. Upgrading to the T7200 results in nearly a $150 price increase which is kind of steep for me.

    I'm not really concerned about the speed of either processor. I see that everyone is in agreement that there is only a modest speed increase at best for most applications. The divisons on either processor just stem from the the idea on whether or not this speed increase is worth it (which is of course, oppinion). What I AM concerned about though is whether both are 64-bit processors or not. I've seen some people say that the 4MB cache is what makes it 64-bit and other people say that just having a Core 2 Duo in general is 64-bit. These are two totally contradictory statements and I am wondering if anyone would be able to help me.

    Plus, I notice on the intel site that only the T5500 Cored 2 Duo lacks the ability to have "Intel Virtualization Technology". What the heck is that? Would I need that?

    Thank you for all of your help.
     
  2. stevenator128

    stevenator128 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    No idea on the Virtualization, but Core 2 Duo is 64-bit, period. The t5500 and t5600 are both 64-bit even though they have the 2mb cache.

    By the way, it is in NO way worth the upgrade for a whopping $150. I personally wouldn't spend any more than $50 on that upgrade, or I wouldn't get it.
     
  3. vespoli

    vespoli 402 NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,134
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Both are 64-bit as stevenator128 said.

    The difference between cache sizes is that the more cache you have, the faster math and other things can be done. Cache stores the most frequently used instructions to save time. In everyday work, there will be no noticeable difference. If you are doing a lot of number crunching, the extra cache might come into play.

    If you don't know what virtualization is, don't worry about it as it will not affect you.
     
  4. djspl

    djspl Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  5. Jalf

    Jalf Comrade Santa

    Reputations:
    2,883
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Cache size has nothing to do with features. It's just how big a buffer it has on the chip to cache data, so it doesn't have to wait for the RAM to catch up. So more cache provides a modest performance boost, and nothing else.
     
  6. chrisyano

    chrisyano Hall Monitor NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    956
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    If the $150 is a lot to spend on an upgrade, I assure you that you'll be fine the the T5500. It's a very powerful CPU. Chances are you wouldn't notice the difference or even need the extra processing power anyway.
     
  7. CptProletariat

    CptProletariat Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thank you for all of your help everyone. I really appreciate you all clearing up what a 2MB cache and a 4MB cache are and what constitutes a 64-bit processor.

    But no one can tell me what "Intel Virtualization Technology" is? I don't like the answer that if I don't know what it is, I shouldn't worry about it. After all, there are lots of things that I don't know; but just because I don't know them doesn't mean they aren't useful or important.
     
  8. miner

    miner Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    It is basically hardware support for people who want to run 2 operating systems virtually using software such as vmware or Virtual PC without the need to partition or dual boot the hard drive. It helps out people who want to test new OS/applications without having to go through all the trouble. It is mostly aimed at Professionals & business users, for the home user it is of little use unless you want to try out different OS virtually.
     
  9. Jalf

    Jalf Comrade Santa

    Reputations:
    2,883
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    It's true, if you don't know what it is, you shouldn't worry about it.

    As said above, it allows you to run multiple OS'es simultaneously, without having to fall back to software emulation.
     
  10. digital8doug

    digital8doug Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    How much % benefit does it provide if running VMware? Can only one O/S be virtual? If trying out Multiple GNU/Linux bundles w/ M$ XP pro (dual or #x Boot), would it better 2 have the Windoz O/S virtual?
    Would IVT provide any benefit when rendering in Digital Video editing?? Adobe Premiere or Final Cut PRO.
    Appears a larger cache 4MB would make a big difference to render DVE.
     
Similar Threads: Cache Cache
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Upgrade SSD on y510p without 24GB cache? Apr 20, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Information regarding SSD cache? Nov 20, 2013
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Performance: ExpressCache & ReadyBoost Consiguratuon Advice Sep 25, 2013
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades HD Cache? Sep 6, 2013
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Upgrade CPU in the HP DV7 Laptop with Intel Core 2 Extreme Quad-core processor and 12MB of cache Jul 31, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page