2-in-1 with good screen and battery life

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Danja, Sep 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danja

Danja Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    Hi all,

I'm looking to get a 2-in-1 laptop. I'm a lab scientist and I would like to get something for two purposes:
    1: Be able to read papers in bed (pure tablet is insufficient unless it has a very responsive keyboard attachment to make comments with)
    2: read and watch shows on the plane

I'm doing more travel as I go further in my career and it would be nice to have something with a battery life that matches my travel schedule. I'd really like to have something that can reliably hit 5 hours under moderate load (e.g. watching NetFlix or reading papers while listening to music). My current machine, a Surface Pro 3, fails dramatically in this regard - I usually can't get more than 2.5 hours out of it, especially running Mendeley (and it also seems to drain 10-20% of battery in sleep mode on the way to the airport, which is obnoxious). Being able to open the case and replace the battery when it gets old would be ideal. Otherwise my only requirement is that the screen be pleasant to look at.

I was considering a Yoga 920 4K but I'm a bit concerned about user reports of poor battery life. The FHD version could be ok, but I'd like a screen that looks at least as nice as my SP3 (which is 12" at 2160x1440). I'm wondering if there are any other options out there that would fit the bill.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    Preferably not much more than $1200

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen - this one is important for me. I went and looked at a lot of laptops - less than 13.3" was too small and 15.6" was starting to get too big.

3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    US

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    Nope