1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

2 GB RAM Upgrade For Inspiron 6000?

Discussion in 'Dell' started by Sa*ad159, Mar 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sa*ad159

    Sa*ad159 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hello friends,

    I currently have a Inspiron 6000 with 512 RAM, I am looking to upgrade it to 2GB RAM. I work by multi-tasking with programs such as Photoshop with many layers, Firefox with many windows, and video/music player program at the same time and other misc programs.

    As of now, the 512 RAM has been just okay, but after researching RAM upgrade would be the least expensive but most rewarding upgrade to help boost the power of my laptop.

    BUT, for those that have Inspiron 6000 or a model of similar caliber, can the Inspiron 6000 take advantage of 2GB?

    Thank you so much for all your help.

    PS: If I were to buy it, I would buy 2 sticks of 1GB Ram for the DELL Insprion 6000, Correct?

    :)
     
  2. graememk

    graememk Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Donegal, Ireland
    Yep i had 2GB of RAM in my inspiron 6000, upgraded from 1GB, it would definatly boost the performance and yes you would need 2 1GB Sticks
     
  3. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    Central New York
    Depending on what you have now (2x256 or 1x512), it might be easier to buy a 2gb chip and go to 2.5gb.
     
  4. graememk

    graememk Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Donegal, Ireland
    This is from my memory so correct me if im wrong, I think the max supported memory in the inspiron 6000 is 2GB?

    According to Corsair the max memory for the 6000 is 2GB. (i used the memory Configurator)
     
  5. Sa*ad159

    Sa*ad159 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thank you both - graememk & millermagic.

    Do you recommend one brand over the other?

    Graememk, since you have the same model and you were successful in upgrading to 2GB, did you notice a spike/drop in the overall temperature after the upgrade?

    The keywords are DDR2 / 533MHz when looking for compatible Inspiron 6000 RAM, correct?

    Thanks so much, for helping a stranger in need.
     
  6. graememk

    graememk Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Donegal, Ireland
    I didnt notice a change in temperature, I was running Vista at the time and the laptop was on for at least a week most of the time between restarts,

    I just went and got the cheapest i could at the time which was Corsair Value RAM from Komplett.ie, at the time it was around 40 or 50 euro a stick, now its only 20 euro each

    you need SO-DIMM DDR2 PC4200 Sticks, PC4200 is 533MHz
     
  7. Mike 01Hawk

    Mike 01Hawk Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Tulsa
  8. NotebookYoozer

    NotebookYoozer Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    you can retract your thanks to millermagic, he gave you incorrect advice. be thankful you didn't spend your $ on a 2GB chip.
     
  9. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    Central New York
    I made a mistake. I'm sorry.

    I was not aware the inspiron 6000 was such an old laptop.
     
  10. nizzy1115

    nizzy1115 Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Well you dont need to be sorry, and theres no need for name calling either...anyrate, the 6000 isnt that old laptop...heck i just bought my mom one a year ago. It is just that the chipset maxes at 2gb.
     
  11. Sa*ad159

    Sa*ad159 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I notice some RAM companies state "LIFETIME WARRENTY" - lifetime, thats a long time LOL.

    Would you recommend one brand such as Crucial over another? If they have the same specifications, does it really matter what company one buys from?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  12. nizzy1115

    nizzy1115 Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    It shouldn't matter, just get what is cheapest with the full warranty.
     
  13. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    Central New York
    Gotcha. The chipset in my thinkpad maxes out at 3gb ... before BIOS upgrade.
     
  14. Sa*ad159

    Sa*ad159 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks for the advice.

    Okay, here is the deal, hopefully somone can answer me:

    Let's say a program has hoggs up a lot of CPU - say 30%.

    By upgrading RAM from 512MB to 2GB, will the CPU for this program decrease? In respect to the "Task Manager", how will one see an obvious difference? Thanks!

    Can anyone explain or point me in the direction, where one can learn more about the function of RAM and its impact on performance?

    Thanks, truly appreciate it.
     
  15. Sa*ad159

    Sa*ad159 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  16. hcp

    hcp Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  17. Tram

    Tram Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  18. graememk

    graememk Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Donegal, Ireland
    Yea that should be fine, the 667MHz RAM will down clock to 533MHz that the insprion 6000 supports
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page