120Hz 3D Screen upgrade for Alienware 17 R1

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by MogRules, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. cdoublejj

    cdoublejj Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    189
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Alienware went Private!? Its usually when they go IPO that things get crappier. Either way they are answering to share holders.
     
  2. FunkOverload

    FunkOverload Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey guys, welcome to 2017.

    I just finished upgrading my screen. However, my GPU is not being recognized.

    Any tips to getting it working? Already flashed the bios and attempted to run NVIDIA installer. No GPU found.



    EDIT: Apologies everyone. After running windows update, and manually installing the graphics driver, everything came together.

    FOR OP: Along with the D01 model, the X01 model WORKS AS WELL. Cheers lad :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2017
    MogRules and MickyD1234 like this.
  3. Faadi786

    Faadi786 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you're in the U.S. and still looking for the eDP cable I Picked up a video cable (n392w) just now through dell chat...Its still $9.99 plus tax fellas. Was offered free Shipping so jumped on that obviously...Now of to buy the screen. Unfortunately its out of stock on laptopScreens...Any ideas where to buy it from and what to look for? Is Ebay my only viable Option?
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
    MogRules likes this.
  4. Ashtrix

    Ashtrix ψυχή υπεροχή

    Reputations:
    1,392
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Trophy Points:
    181
    @Faadi786 , yep I guess that's the only viable option we have, the 120Hz panel from dell will cost 200+ USD.
     
  5. woodzstack

    woodzstack Alezka Computers , Official Clevo reseller.

    Reputations:
    1,137
    Messages:
    3,362
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Just want to say, the 120hz screens are SOOO worth it, so nice. Also - you can then upgrade to like Pascal 1060 or even mod in a 1070, but 1060 is crazy powerful and stays VERY cool. However the 120hz screens just look soooo nice. I had one for just a day, and I miss it already.
     
    MogRules and MickyD1234 like this.
  6. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    822
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    470
    Trophy Points:
    101
    This is the reason my exhange is on hold. I can't get a 120hz screen right now and I won't take a 60hz model instead. I would rather wait two months for a new machine with the 120hz model then go without it.

    120 makes a world of difference folks. It is also a glossy screen if your into that , which I am :p
     
    MickyD1234 likes this.
  7. Faadi786

    Faadi786 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So I bought a screen from ebay revision d01 and a new cable from dell parts...installed the edp cable power and the little connection that comes with it...installed the webcam on top and skipped the ir emitter connection because I dont really care for 3d oh and not to forget I also connected the 40 pin connector in back of the lcd screen...Put the laptop together and nothing...8 Beeps...wth. Rechecked everything to see if I had plugged everything in correctly which I did. So I need your help guys.

    Since I didnt want to not have my laptop up and running I reinstalled the old 900p 60hz monitor for now...Oh and other thing when I used to go into device manager Id see 2 display device adapters one the 980m and one intel graphics. I suppose optimus was enabled...after reinstalling the older screen I no longer see intel graphics and just the 980m now...Did I lose optimus for good? or is it some bios glitch going on? some help would be appreciated.
     
  8. Ashtrix

    Ashtrix ψυχή υπεροχή

    Reputations:
    1,392
    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    Trophy Points:
    181
    That's great to hear @TheReciever :vbthumbsup: considering the upgrade ! I'm waiting for some funds and a worthy GPU upgrade to pull off the same upgrade for my Ranger too. 120Hz on this machine will be perfect.

    Next VGA setting is only in the Unlocked BIOS. I don't see any type of that setting here, Also IIRC the 120Hz panel needs to be installed when running PEG / dGPU mode (Only OS level MUX switch on Stock sBIOS fn+f5), else it'll fail as we know + for the post Maxwell users they need to run FULL UEFI at all costs.

    The M17x R4 too has the VGA setting option through Unlocked BIOS as well for SG/iGFX and PEG/dGPU iirc but this Auto + eDP option is different idk why it changed since both of these machines and the Avenger MK II also use the InsydeH2O BIOS only..

    Could you please post a screen of the VGA setting so that before (where error happens can be guessed by the user) and after (as you mentioned alr) + total steps (I assume the one you said in the last is the one) you did to break the error code for this Unlocked sBIOS, I'll update the sBIOS thread post as a warning/update for the 120Hz upgrades on an Unlocked sBIOS environment. Thanks

    Also for the NVRAM reset I guess you can also remove the CPU (Long back I read this vague memory lol so don't quote me on this :p) or the usual Power Cycle with RAM removal method. CMOS doesn't reset NVRAM, Again this is different because this is an LCD reason brick case transitioned to a CMOS error code.

    Edit : Oh, was your Win10 Installation in Full UEFI ? I can see you are running the 780M here, so that's another point to keep in mind. When coming to the CSM/Legacy or UEFI option was set to. Since it's most important thing when going past Kepler. So that Boot option might have also an impact of showing the VGA options. Dunno much since the 980M needs GOP driver which this BIOS lacks thus needing a full UEFI installation Win8.1/Win10 & 7 doesn't have Full UEFI.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
    Papusan likes this.
  9. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    822
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    470
    Trophy Points:
    101
    120hz really is a deal breaker in terms of ever going back to 60hz again. After using it you just have to have it from that point forward :)
     
    MickyD1234 likes this.
  10. kanth1991

    kanth1991 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  11. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    822
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    470
    Trophy Points:
    101
    The part number on the first link looks correct, N392W, but the second one does not match. It also looks like the whole bezel and everything which you don't need, only the LCD itself. If I remember correctly the m17Xr4 had something glued over the screen , so maybe that is why that is sold as a whole assembly. I would try laptopscreens.com for the right LCD. It would also be cheaper to get the cable through the first link and the screen through laptopscreens.
     
Loading...

Share This Page