]]>

120Hz 3D Screen upgrade for Alienware 17 R1

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by MogRules, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. cdoublejj

    cdoublejj Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    189
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Alienware went Private!? Its usually when they go IPO that things get crappier. Either way they are answering to share holders.
     
  2. FunkOverload

    FunkOverload Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey guys, welcome to 2017.

    I just finished upgrading my screen. However, my GPU is not being recognized.

    Any tips to getting it working? Already flashed the bios and attempted to run NVIDIA installer. No GPU found.



    EDIT: Apologies everyone. After running windows update, and manually installing the graphics driver, everything came together.

    FOR OP: Along with the D01 model, the X01 model WORKS AS WELL. Cheers lad :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2017
    MogRules and MickyD1234 like this.
  3. Faadi786

    Faadi786 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you're in the U.S. and still looking for the eDP cable I Picked up a video cable (n392w) just now through dell chat...Its still $9.99 plus tax fellas. Was offered free Shipping so jumped on that obviously...Now of to buy the screen. Unfortunately its out of stock on laptopScreens...Any ideas where to buy it from and what to look for? Is Ebay my only viable Option?
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
    MogRules likes this.
  4. Ashtrix

    Ashtrix ψυχή υπεροχή

    Reputations:
    1,217
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,322
    Trophy Points:
    181
    @Faadi786 , yep I guess that's the only viable option we have, the 120Hz panel from dell will cost 200+ USD.
     
  5. woodzstack

    woodzstack Alezka Computers , Official Clevo reseller.

    Reputations:
    1,092
    Messages:
    3,233
    Likes Received:
    2,344
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Just want to say, the 120hz screens are SOOO worth it, so nice. Also - you can then upgrade to like Pascal 1060 or even mod in a 1070, but 1060 is crazy powerful and stays VERY cool. However the 120hz screens just look soooo nice. I had one for just a day, and I miss it already.
     
    MogRules and MickyD1234 like this.
  6. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    822
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    101
    This is the reason my exhange is on hold. I can't get a 120hz screen right now and I won't take a 60hz model instead. I would rather wait two months for a new machine with the 120hz model then go without it.

    120 makes a world of difference folks. It is also a glossy screen if your into that , which I am :p
     
    MickyD1234 likes this.
  7. Faadi786

    Faadi786 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So I bought a screen from ebay revision d01 and a new cable from dell parts...installed the edp cable power and the little connection that comes with it...installed the webcam on top and skipped the ir emitter connection because I dont really care for 3d oh and not to forget I also connected the 40 pin connector in back of the lcd screen...Put the laptop together and nothing...8 Beeps...wth. Rechecked everything to see if I had plugged everything in correctly which I did. So I need your help guys.

    Since I didnt want to not have my laptop up and running I reinstalled the old 900p 60hz monitor for now...Oh and other thing when I used to go into device manager Id see 2 display device adapters one the 980m and one intel graphics. I suppose optimus was enabled...after reinstalling the older screen I no longer see intel graphics and just the 980m now...Did I lose optimus for good? or is it some bios glitch going on? some help would be appreciated.
     
  8. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    138
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    491
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I installed the 120hz panel and am@now getting a boot loop.

    The first boot resulted in a BSOD of a memory allocation sort, then I would get the 8 beeps. I took apart the whole laptop so I could mod the frame for easy access to the CMOS battery, as I am not about to take apart the whole thing every time I need the CMOS battery lol.

    Anyways after cycling the machine, getting to 5 beeps, restart holding Fn key and finally I get a BIOS splash screen. When I boot I get up to the Windows icon, loads a bit, and restarts. I am now in a bootloop, currently restoring PC to see if there is any change.

    I forgot that VGA setting was set to PEG, maybe I need to change that to auto in the BIOS?

    Ive been up about 15 hours working on this laptop and am a little tired :) While its working I am hoping to get some direction. As of right now, I get BIOS and right up to booting into my profile in Windows 10.

    @Ashtrix @Papusan @MogRules

    Thanks guys!

    EDIT:

    Looks like I jumped the gun, restore seemed to resolve my issue for now.

    I was able to get past the 8 beeps with removing the CMOS battery and set VGA to AUTO and eDP
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
    Nomad, Papusan, Ashtrix and 1 other person like this.
  9. Ashtrix

    Ashtrix ψυχή υπεροχή

    Reputations:
    1,217
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,322
    Trophy Points:
    181
    That's great to hear @TheReciever :vbthumbsup: considering the upgrade ! I'm waiting for some funds and a worthy GPU upgrade to pull off the same upgrade for my Ranger too. 120Hz on this machine will be perfect.

    Next VGA setting is only in the Unlocked BIOS. I don't see any type of that setting here, Also IIRC the 120Hz panel needs to be installed when running PEG / dGPU mode (Only OS level MUX switch on Stock sBIOS fn+f5), else it'll fail as we know + for the post Maxwell users they need to run FULL UEFI at all costs.

    The M17x R4 too has the VGA setting option through Unlocked BIOS as well for SG/iGFX and PEG/dGPU iirc but this Auto + eDP option is different idk why it changed since both of these machines and the Avenger MK II also use the InsydeH2O BIOS only..

    Could you please post a screen of the VGA setting so that before (where error happens can be guessed by the user) and after (as you mentioned alr) + total steps (I assume the one you said in the last is the one) you did to break the error code for this Unlocked sBIOS, I'll update the sBIOS thread post as a warning/update for the 120Hz upgrades on an Unlocked sBIOS environment. Thanks

    Also for the NVRAM reset I guess you can also remove the CPU (Long back I read this vague memory lol so don't quote me on this :p) or the usual Power Cycle with RAM removal method. CMOS doesn't reset NVRAM, Again this is different because this is an LCD reason brick case transitioned to a CMOS error code.

    Edit : Oh, was your Win10 Installation in Full UEFI ? I can see you are running the 780M here, so that's another point to keep in mind. When coming to the CSM/Legacy or UEFI option was set to. Since it's most important thing when going past Kepler. So that Boot option might have also an impact of showing the VGA options. Dunno much since the 980M needs GOP driver which this BIOS lacks thus needing a full UEFI installation Win8.1/Win10 & 7 doesn't have Full UEFI.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
    Papusan likes this.
  10. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    138
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    491
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I should also clear up some details, I am completely out of it right now and really shouldnt be tearing down my laptop lol

    I realized that the stock setting in the BIOS for SATA operation is RAID and not AHCI. Its why I was stuck in the boot loop after resolving the lack of POST. I assumed this was all related to the upgrade issue but it was a detail I had forgotten (stock RAID vs AHCI). The reason for this was because I have loaded defaults before on this machine and didnt have any issues. In my half asleep state these details confounded me. So if you reset CMOS then be sure to enable your desired SATA operation, if its AHCI then it will no longer be enabled.

    The 8 beep error code seems to be heavily tied to LCD issue, some claim faulty motherboard or GPU (since eDP > GPU) but I just made the switch so its only logical it was an issue with the panel. When I first boot, I got some kind of BSOD that was related to Video memory but it restart so fast that its more an inference than a recollection if that makes sense.

    After some googling, a confident member stated that you want to reset to the point where you get the 5 beep error code. This can be done most commonly with CMOS reset, but some claim it needs a combination of that and RAM change, or swapping CPU's to force the BIOS to prompt (due to hardware change). I finally got the 5 beep error code and after some more googling, someone posted the "what to do next" from an M11x manual.

    Basically to remove battery, and cmos. Hold power for 30 seconds. Install CMOS (leave battery out) and start machine while holding Fn, it will reboot, once rebooted to let go of Fn key. This is where I was when I made the post about my boot loop issue.

    To be completely honest I think me setting VGA to auto and eDP had probably nothing to do with my solution lol

    Right now my screen is black, its not liking my USB 3.0 HP monitor, Im sure after drivers are installed it will resolve itself (hopefully) lol

    In siege I can probably get 120+ FPS if I drop the settings enough, I get about 100 as it stands with High Textures @ 1080p. My bigger problem is always the overheating VRMs but thats off topic for this thread :)

    Anyways this is my recollection so far, Im sorely tired so Im sure I may have glossed over your question, but hey I tried! :)
     
    Nomad, Ashtrix and Papusan like this.
Loading...

Share This Page