** 1070 laptop: GT73VR, GT62VR, GT72VR reboot/crash problem **

Discussion in 'MSI' started by Hugodra, May 17, 2017.

  1. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    221
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    76
    You might not have installed a miner on your system but a webpage that has been hijacked can run one remotely which is normally coinhive which uses both GPU and CPU. Look at my signature there is a thread of such as site doing what I am talking about.

    Sent from my LLD-L31 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Vamsi Krishna Saladi

    Vamsi Krishna Saladi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Actually i am not able to figure why my AfterBurner is not showing voltage (in mV) in the monitering. its showing '0'. i turned on check box - "unlock voltage monitoring". So Frequency is in Y axis and Voltage in X axis.
    So i do it flat horizontally or vertically ?
     
  3. Vamsi Krishna Saladi

    Vamsi Krishna Saladi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I checked and i dont have any browser running at that time. I checked the Task manager. I will check for any suspicious threads.
    But in this time when my GPU hypers up. My CPU is perfectly stable. (monitoring through MSi after burner)
    i will try With AirPlane mode ON. Do you have any ideas i can test or mining/virus.
     
  4. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    221
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    76
    You could run malware bytes etc.

    Sent from my LLD-L31 using Tapatalk
     
  5. heliada

    heliada Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    210
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Also, not sure how you install drivers and what drivers you are on. Try to install a newer/older version after cleaning with DDU first to see if you can get rid of the pop up errors.
    It is normal for it not to monitor voltage by default. The curve will work regardless of whether monitoring is enabled or not. Look at the pic below for inspiration: but don't OC like I did - the pic is from my gt75 (your curve will be lower). I don't have the msi laptop anymore and don't feel like installing afterburner on the pc just to show you how it should look like. Just flatline it beyond 0.9V and don't drag any points before it upwards (yet).
    But this will not solve your gpu usage spikes. If DDU-ing doesn't help, there must be some program going rogue despite your efforts - maybe something you normally use and would never suspect, something preinstalled by msi (I had some issues with some versions of SCM and dragon center related to high gpu usage), who knows. You can try looking in task manager. When you open task manager and click show more details, right click any of the top headers in processes (default should be cpu, memory, disk, network) - and also select gpu. If that doesn't reveal the culprit - I suggest to open nvidia control panel and on top click desktop -> display GPU activity icon. That way you will have a colorful icon in notification area and if you click that you see exactly which programs are using the gpu at that moment. When the gpu usage goes rogue, simply terminate them one by one in task manager (even SCM) to discover the culprit. You will know when you find the culprit cause the frequency will go back to idle. You can take it then from there.
    PS. I would only mess with the curves etc once you get the drivers/rogue programs sorted out.

    Screenshot (2).png gpu notif.jpg curve.jpg
     
    bennyg and Falkentyne like this.
  6. Vamsi Krishna Saladi

    Vamsi Krishna Saladi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey bro,
    I actually downgraded windows to 1607 build, which didnt have GPU monitering. And after hard trying not to damage GPU in process of upgrading to 1803 it took a while.
    Now i am not facing any hyperups on non using of laptop. And the GPU is perfectly fine now. Still need to test few things.
     
  7. Vamsi Krishna Saladi

    Vamsi Krishna Saladi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    And i also tried to set the volt-freq curve to control my GPU. but it only shifted the base and OC clock indicaters in MSI after burner indicater to lesser values than 1400 Mhz. but still GPU is running 1800+Mhz. (ps this is before upgarding to 1803 windows build) still testing new build
     
  8. willhub

    willhub Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Could my laptop have this? I have a GE72MVR 7RG laptop, not the same as in OP, however sometime mine boosts to over 1900, I feel there is instability, games crash now and then, anyway to check if my GTX1070 is some sort of batch that is affected?
     
  9. heliada

    heliada Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    210
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Well, if only the game crashes you do not have the same problem. It seems more like there is some sort of OC applied to your card causing the instability as I don't think it should be going over 1900 by default. In fact in demanding games using the gpu to 100% it should be around 1600MHz. I recommend to reinstall dragon center and SCM. Also reinstall nvidia drivers using ddu. If that doesn't help try reflashing the VBIOS (make sure to reboot after it's done) - just roll with the official one on the support page for the laptop for now. Then you can take it from there.
    Anyway I don't think your gpu should be affected as this was specifically tied to the 1.0 revision MXM cards and yours is soldered to the motherboard. But ye, we can't know for sure what msi was up to when assembling these laptops.
     
  10. Filbert Thamrin

    Filbert Thamrin Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello,
    Just recently got the GT72VR (regret not knowing there are problems with this laptop, otherwise would've avoided it like the plague). First problem was the crashing issue everyone's been having here, but flashed the 8A VBIOS and everything's fine again. But suddenly I got another issue of blinking orange LED's and my laptop won't charge. Tried flashing new BIOS but that didn't help, as well as doing EC reset like 10x. If anyone could help me that would be appreciated. Cheers!
     
Loading...

Share This Page