** 1070 laptop: "bd prochot" causing cpu throttling to 800MHz and stuttering **

Discussion in 'MSI' started by streetunder, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Pedro69

    Pedro69 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    23
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    41
    @Kevin@GenTechPC

    I remember when you asking me if i already sent the laptop to MSI, i decided send yesterday and not was with reseller...i sent myself the laptop and wil arrive at MSI Center on the 16/05...will left feedback when i got a response from them, anyways they promised that not will send the laptop with a Vbios or other camouflage method.

    @k1ny

    Thanks for your report also, i was the first showing this problem here in NBR and @heliada was the first in MSI fóruns...there is no others reports with this issue in web on msi laptops.
     
    Kevin@GenTechPC likes this.
  2. k1ny

    k1ny Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I read all posts few days ago since I met the same problem.If my post could help you,that's great.Keep pushing MSI guys and request for a new model MSI laptop.It's the only way to completely solve the problem.Old models really suck,they just treat consumers like fool.
     
    Pedro69 likes this.
  3. k1ny

    k1ny Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    6
    After I got my laptop back,I'll do more tests and post results here.Frequency problem seems like an emergency,though power supply is not reliable.Everything is fine before,really strange.
     
  4. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,862
    Messages:
    3,672
    Likes Received:
    4,733
    Trophy Points:
    331

    Try to use imgur.com (popular image site) to post images if you can access it through china.
    Some links like baidu cannot be seen by American users here. It would make things easier :)
     
  5. k1ny

    k1ny Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry,didn't realize that.I forgot the damn GFW.Next time l will use google+ or sth to save image.
     
  6. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,862
    Messages:
    3,672
    Likes Received:
    4,733
    Trophy Points:
    331
    @k1ny please check your private message. I have a request for you. It is important. maybe you can help where other have failed.
    (yes it is about the "Unlocked" EC for MSI Gt73VR 7th gen (not 6th gen)), you will find some very interesting information.
     
  7. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    748
    Messages:
    7,084
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Pedro, glad that you decided to go with that route and we are all with you here so hopefully MSI takes care of you.
     
    Pedro69 likes this.
  8. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    11,109
    Messages:
    17,943
    Likes Received:
    26,321
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Exactly. And this was from my post Wednesday...
    upload_2018-5-11_19-20-46.png
     
    Falkentyne likes this.
  9. heliada

    heliada Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    105
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    56
    @k1ny man I have to disappoint you. The problem is not drivers at all. I tried on several versions of windows, factory image of the system, clean install of the system from usb, drivers that came with the laptop, drivers on msi website, newest drivers on nvidia website, drivers from nvidia in between... all reinstalled with ddu. BD prochot persisted. It is not software related at all.
    It also persisted through different bios versions and ec firmware versions and their resets to defaults (cmos/ec reset).
    It is also not related to the gpu and cpu itself. GPU was 100% stable with samsung memory (at least I had that one) and I could even overclock it stable over 2000MHz running gpu benchmarks all day long. Never had a single crash.
    CPU was also perfectly stable at 4GHz or even more, running cpu benchmarks all day long, not even breaking a sweat.
    Nothing was wrong at all (in fact it was the most amazing laptop I could imagine aside from horrendous software and drivers) until the total system power draw got high - this points to problems in power delivery, voltage or motherboard in my opinion. In the end it all amounts to: the motherboard was f--ed. MSI agreed with me after I explained to what is happening and how the laptop should behave with a link to perfectly working ge73vr with 7700HQ and gtx 1070 just to convince them it is faulty.

    And nah, the laptops are not sold in 2018 in EU. I bought the last gt72vr 6re with i7-6820HK in the whole country (at least as far as reputable shops go) back in May 2017. I just did not know there were problems as I did not have a game that would use cpu to 100%. I got AC:Origins as a promotion with samsung ssd back in december 2017 and since then I have been back and forth with forums and warranty till NOW.
    Installing the limiting vbios avoids the issue as it lowers the voltage/power draw of the system by a good amount. Many already use it because of the crashing 1.0 cards so they will never know of bd prochot.
    PS. the gt72 or gt72s both are listed as using hybrid power, while all gt72vr's with bd prochot problem CANNOT use it, at all due to missing EC values. Clearly something is wrong and since reflashing EC does not solve it, it means the EC is probably uncapable of detecting something on the motherboard and it all goes to hell.
    The only solution is to: 1. replace motherboard with working one and hope it stays working
    2. solder a working part on the motherboard
    3. smash it to 1000 pieces and get a PC.

    There is no software fix and if the laptop still throttles to base clock, that likely means the bd prochot was just disabled, as that is the exact result I got when disabling it in throttlestop.
     
    Falkentyne likes this.
  10. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,862
    Messages:
    3,672
    Likes Received:
    4,733
    Trophy Points:
    331
    100% correct.
    Properly working MSI laptops ever since GT60 will have EC RAM register value "9E" in register location C5, and EC RAM register value "C0" or "C1" in EC RAM Register C6. C0 means the system is idle and C1 means some sort of load is requested somewhere.

    if the value in EC RAM register C6 changes to 40 or 41 (same thing, idle or load), it means that HYBRID POWER is DISABLED for some reason and the system *WILL NOT* draw power from the battery at heavy load. This will cause system enforced throttling to cut power to the CPU if a certain "power threshold" is bypassed. That power threshold is, funny enough, the exact point where the system would "begin" to start using battery power. Things that can make EC register C6 be 40 / 41 are: Battery is unplugged, or battery is below 30%, or someone for some reason decides to manually input a value in EC RAM register C5 to a value of 80 or below. These throttling flags being on or off exist due to certain "checks" in the EC firmware, that I BELIEVE are stored in text strings (why? i don't know. Maybe because the unlocked EC, which NO ONE HAS, has them set to 0) in the direct EC firmware file under a "Throttle Trip" flag, as so:

    CPU_CrtT = 1.CPU_ThtlT = 1.CPU_ThtlT = 0.SYS_CrtT = 1.SYS_ThtlT = 1.SYS_ThtlT = 0

    The 1's and 0's mean certain conditions can turn throttle on or off. The CrtT stands for Current Trip, meaning the system will POWER OFF if a certain hardwired # of amps is drawn by the CPU or system combined. This only affects people trying to pull too much amps through the CPU trying to achieve super high overclocks. Like someone in this thread (guess who).

    Since the very old GT60 laptop even has the EC values 9E and C0 in registers C5 and C6, the fact that the affected Gt72VR's have "00" and "00" there is troubling. Because having hybrid power disabled by having EC Register C6 set to 40 does NOT cause BD prochot on any of the other systems. It causes POWER LIMIT throttling of the CPU to 45W, then 25W (and then if necessary, to 800 mhz), which you might "think" is the same thing, but it isn't, because at least on those systems, you can "find a way" to turn ON hybrid power again (there's a way to force hybrid power on even if the battery is disconnected, by tricking the EC but this doesn't work at all on @heliada 's old system. The EC Trick would 'force' EC Register C6 to be C0/C1 even if the battery is disconnected. But this is impossible with C5 not even being used
     
    heliada likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page