Quantcast Need to boost my Laptop Wifi Range... how?

Closed Thread
    Notebook Enthusiast

Default Need to boost my Laptop Wifi Range... how?

Morning all.

I need a device to boost my wifi range on the laptop. It has an internal g/n(draft) card... it does pretty well in most instances. But, since I am a truck driver, a lot of times I find myself parked JUST BARELY out of range. I mean, I can see the signal... but it is very poor, and not steady or continuous at all times.

A common scenario is that I am parked at a Truck Stop that offers free wifi, but I am 80 ft from the store, or parked just around a corner or blocked off from the signal by 2-3 rows of parked trucks.

I saw a link for something that looked like a telescope, I think it was called "Cantena Antenna" or something like that. That is def in my price range (I think it was $50 or less) but I was wondering how difficult it would be to setup on a nightly basis and how large the thing was. If I could throw it in back of my truck during the day, and just extend the legs at night and hook it up in a jiffy... that might be right up my ally. But I'm not interested in anything thats going to take 2 hours to position just right or any home made devices that I'll have to build myself or takes hours to assemble or disassemble.

Thx for any advice!

9262 is the best:)

Default Re: Need to boost my Laptop Wifi Range... how?

You can get a cheap booster which will amplify the signal.Most of those telescopic amplifiers need antenna based cards.

Notebook Enthusiast

Quote Originally Posted by RAMBO29 View Post
    You can get a cheap booster which will amplify the signal.Most of those telescopic amplifiers need antenna based cards.
    Any recommendations about what Brand and where to buy?

Monkeymod

Get Hawking technology device.

http://www.hawkingtech.com/

"Nothing is free but ignorance"

IFL90 15.4" WSXGA+, T7700 4GB RAM, HD 160GB, BT, WiFi, Vista Business, FP.

Notebook Consultant