Quantcast Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Notebook Guru
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    73
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

    Hello,

    I have a few questions about the HDD caddy. I need to buy one so that I can upgrade to an SSD.

    1. Do the HDD caddy do anything else instead of holding the SSD?
    2. If the answer to question 1 is a 'No' can I just buy any HDD caddy's that fits the size?
    3. What are some HDD caddy's that works on the T430? Any 12.7mm?
    4. Are there anything that I should watch out for when I buy mine?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Notebook Virtuoso
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,547
    Rep Power
    25

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

    1. The UltraBay HDD caddy adapter is a mechanical, passive device that provides: (a) a place to hold a 2.5" HDD/SDD, and (b) the slimline SATA electrical/power connector for the drive, i.e. when you push the whole enclosure properly into the UltraBay, you are connecting the drive to the motherboard.

    2. You have to buy an UltraBay HDD caddy adapter that fits your specific notebook (T430) and is compatible with the Lenovo-supplied one.

    3. You can buy one that is advertised for T410/420/430 and T/W510/520/530. I would recommend this. (The photos on that page may be helpful.)

    4. Just the above points, I suppose. (You could have up to 3 drives in the T430: an mSATA SSD drive, a HDD/SSD in the primary bay, and a HDD/SDD in the UltraBay.)

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Notebook Consultant
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    154
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

    A few more points to you question #4:
    1. You need to make sure that you buy SATA 3 and not an old SATA 2 caddy.
    2. The size matters - some adapters leave a 3-4mm gaps when inserted into a laptop.

    I bought mine here. It has been working perfectly fine.

    HTH

  4. #4
    Notebook Virtuoso
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,547
    Rep Power
    25

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

    Quote Originally Posted by andy789 View Post
    You need to make sure that you buy SATA 3 and not an old SATA 2 caddy.
    Huh? The UltraBay HDD caddy adapter has nothing to do with SATA speed.

  5. #5
    Notebook Consultant
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    154
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

    Quote Originally Posted by Kaso View Post
    Huh? The UltraBay HDD caddy adapter has nothing to do with SATA speed.
    That vendor explained me that they sell two versions of the caddy adaptor - an old one for SATA 3GB and a new "advanced" capable of SATA 6GB. I was also curious as what "advanced" means.

  6. #6
    Notebook Virtuoso
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,547
    Rep Power
    25

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430

    Quote Originally Posted by andy789 View Post
    curious as what "advanced" means.
    Perhaps pure gold is used in the "advanced" version?

  7. #7
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430/T530

    So, I am about to do the same thing...I have bought a T530 with 500Mb main drive and a DVD in the Ultrabay. I want to take the DVD out and put into an external carrier, move the 500Mb to the Ultrabay and put a 256Gb Samsung 340 Pro in the main bay as the boot drive. Speed, speed speed...Some questions...
    1. One option I assume I do have is to leave the 500Mb drive where it is, and put the SSD in the Ultrabay (which is SATA 3 I believe) and simply change which drive to boot from. True?
    2. If I put the Lenovo-supplied 500Mb drive in the Ultrabay, what size caddy/carrier do I need to buy for it (# mm?)?
    3. If the SSD goes in the main bay, do I need to put a caddy/carrier for it in the main bay and if so, what size?

    Much appreciated guys.

    TIA.

    Ralph

  8. #8
    Notebook Virtuoso
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,547
    Rep Power
    25

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430/T530

    Quote Originally Posted by rmg08057 View Post
    1. One option I assume I do have is to leave the 500Mb drive where it is, and put the SSD in the Ultrabay (which is SATA 3 I believe) and simply change which drive to boot from. True?
    True.

    2. If I put the Lenovo-supplied 500Mb drive in the Ultrabay, what size caddy/carrier do I need to buy for it (# mm?)?
    Nothing to do with the height of the drive. It's the height of the black plastic bezel (or the UltraBay hole in the chassis) that matters. Just buy an UltraBay caddy adapter that is explicitly stated to be compatible with T530.

    3. If the SSD goes in the main bay, do I need to put a caddy/carrier for it in the main bay and if so, what size?
    No. What you're referring to applies to the drive that sits in the main bay.

  9. #9
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430/T530

    So, sorry to be dense Kaso...
    1. On the Ultrabay, are you saying the caddy will hold whatever thickness drive goes in there? The same caddy will accomodate the SSD or the 500Gb HDD?
    2. Similarly in the main drive compartment... as you say no caddy is needed, this means that it can accomodate either thickness drive (SSD/500Gb) ... doesn't it need some sort of packing to sit the drive in snugly, or are there standard positioned fixings, that apply to either drive, obviating the need?
    3. The SSD as boot drive, I assume I can simply do a clean install of the opsys, copy over drivers and bobs your uncle. With the 500Gb drive then, do I have to do anything with it in terms of software? I don't think so, as it won't be booted from, it just sits there with all its software as a regular drive. Correct?
    4. Your confirmation of my original point 1... that I could put the SSD in the Ultrabay and simply change the setup for which drive to boot from... did you kinda imply that this was possible but not best?

    Mucho thanks for your assistance.

    Ralph in Auckland

  10. #10
    Notebook Virtuoso
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,547
    Rep Power
    25

    Default Re: Ultrabay HDD caddy for T430/T530

    Quote Originally Posted by rmg08057 View Post
    So, sorry to be dense Kaso...
    It's quite OK to be dense.

    1. On the Ultrabay, are you saying the caddy will hold whatever thickness drive goes in there? The same caddy will accomodate the SSD or the 500Gb HDD?
    Yes. Yes.

    2. Similarly in the main drive compartment... as you say no caddy is needed, this means that it can accomodate either thickness drive (SSD/500Gb) ... doesn't it need some sort of packing to sit the drive in snugly, or are there standard positioned fixings, that apply to either drive, obviating the need?
    Well, the "stuff that holds the drive nicely" (caddy/tray + rubber rails) is supplied by Lenovo together with the stock HDD. You can re-use that "stuff" for your new SDD. On the T530, the stock 500GB HDD may likely be 9mm thick. You may want to confirm this to yourself before you buy the SSD.

    3. The SSD as boot drive, I assume I can simply do a clean install of the opsys, copy over drivers and bobs your uncle. With the 500Gb drive then, do I have to do anything with it in terms of software? I don't think so, as it won't be booted from, it just sits there with all its software as a regular drive. Correct?
    Once the SSD officially becomes the boot drive (either by a complete clean installation of everything, or by a direct cloning of everything on the stock HDD), the stock HDD can be completely formatted to serve as a storage drive.

    4. Your confirmation of my original point 1... that I could put the SSD in the Ultrabay and simply change the setup for which drive to boot from... did you kinda imply that this was possible but not best?
    It's a conscious choice. Whether such a choice is "best" depends on how it serves a particular purpose.

    (In some situations, I set up the boot drive in the UltraBay because I want to be able to use the same laptop exclusively for a certain client's software/apps/tools environment at any one time. So, I have a few UltraBay boot drives lying around, one dedicated for each client.)

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1