Quantcast T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Notebook Deity
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    732
    Rep Power
    21

    Default T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

    I am upgrading my T500. I just had a clean install of Win 7 Pro 64-bit on it.

    I would like to install a SSD on it. I am going to keep the current 500GB/7200RPM Hard drive in the ultrabay.

    Does my machine (T500/64-bit Win 7 pro) support SATA III? If yes, will it make a big difference in comparison installing SATA II SSD?

    Thanks a lot for any info!

    Best.
    T530: i7-3820QM, Win 7 Pro 64-bit, 15.6FHD+, 16GB memory, 120GB Kingston SSD (SATA3), 500GB Samsung SSD (SATA3).9-cell battery, Kaspersky.
    T510 x 2: I7-620M, 64-bit Windows 7 Professional, 120GB GSkill SSD, 500GB Hard disc, 8GM RAM, 15.6FHD, WIMAX 6250, 6 Cell LI-ION battery. Kaspersky
    T500 x 2: T9600 (2.8GHz), XP/Pro, 3GB Ram, 15.4 WSXGA+, X4500HD, 200GB/Hitachi TravelStar/7200RPM, BLUETOOTH, WIFI/LINK 5300AGN, 9 CELL LI-ION BATTERY. NOD32.
    T400 and T61 x 2

  2. #2
    such bacon. wow
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    10,030
    Rep Power
    55

    Default Re: T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

    No T500 does not support SATA 3, 6.0 Gbps. If you get a SATA 3 SSD, it will only run at it's rated SATA 2 speeds. Honestly, faster SSD speeds are a gimmick as unless you do massive throughput 24/7, most people can't tell the difference between 200 mb/sec read vs 500 mb/sec read. You still get the .1ms latency and SSD reliability against physical trauma vs a mechanical HDD.
    Sager NP8170 (Gaming DTR): i7-2670QM|16GB DDR3|Radeon 6990M|Crucial M500 240GB SSD|17.3" 1080p|7HP
    Sager W86CU(Backup DTR): i7-720QM|8GB DDR3|GeForce 280M|Samsung PM810 256GB SSD|15.6" 1080p|7HP

    ThinkPad Edge E535(Fiance's): A8-4500M|8GB DDR3|Radeon 7640G|Samsung 840 120GB SSD|15.6" 720p|7Pro
    Latitude E6430 (FDA work laptop) i5-3210M|4GB DDR3|Quadro NVS5200M/HD4000|Scorpio Black 320GB|14.1" 720p|7Enterprise|Lenovo ThinkVision L2251p&D221 WSXGA+
    Other toys: iPhone 5 White|AT&T Blackberry Bold 9900 (work)|2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Premium CVT|2nd gen Nexus 7 16 GB|Latitude 13 Review|Dual Lenovo X220 Tablet review!

  3. #3
    can i haz broadwell?
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    8,213
    Rep Power
    52

    Default Re: T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsunade_Hime View Post
    Honestly, faster SSD speeds are a gimmick as unless you do massive throughput 24/7, most people can't tell the difference between 200 mb/sec read vs 500 mb/sec read. You still get the .1ms latency and SSD reliability against physical trauma vs a mechanical HDD.
    This.

    Get an Intel G3 or Samsung 470/830
    n o n s e n s e - w a r s . c o m

    Intel NUC DC53427HYE Akasa Newton V/i5-3427U/8GB/HD 4000/830 128GB/7 Pro
    ThinkPad Yoga i5-4300U/4GB/HD 4400/FHD/Digitizer/Pro 1500 180GB/8.1 Pro

    D830 Review/CPU Compatibility/GPU Reflow

  4. #4
    Notebook Deity
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    732
    Rep Power
    21

    Default Re: T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

    Thanks so much for your information.

    I already have a T510 with SSD. Does T510 supports SATA III SSD? If yes, I might buy one for my T510 and use my T510's SATA II SSD for my T500.

    Cheers!
    T530: i7-3820QM, Win 7 Pro 64-bit, 15.6FHD+, 16GB memory, 120GB Kingston SSD (SATA3), 500GB Samsung SSD (SATA3).9-cell battery, Kaspersky.
    T510 x 2: I7-620M, 64-bit Windows 7 Professional, 120GB GSkill SSD, 500GB Hard disc, 8GM RAM, 15.6FHD, WIMAX 6250, 6 Cell LI-ION battery. Kaspersky
    T500 x 2: T9600 (2.8GHz), XP/Pro, 3GB Ram, 15.4 WSXGA+, X4500HD, 200GB/Hitachi TravelStar/7200RPM, BLUETOOTH, WIFI/LINK 5300AGN, 9 CELL LI-ION BATTERY. NOD32.
    T400 and T61 x 2

  5. #5
    ZaZ
    ZaZ is offline
    Super Model
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    L'Étoile du Nord
    Posts
    31,576
    Rep Power
    156

    Default Re: T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

    It does not.

  6. #6
    Notebook Deity
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    732
    Rep Power
    21

    Default Re: T500 upgrade: SATA III SSD ?

    ZaZ, thanks for your input. It is always good to hear from you!
    T530: i7-3820QM, Win 7 Pro 64-bit, 15.6FHD+, 16GB memory, 120GB Kingston SSD (SATA3), 500GB Samsung SSD (SATA3).9-cell battery, Kaspersky.
    T510 x 2: I7-620M, 64-bit Windows 7 Professional, 120GB GSkill SSD, 500GB Hard disc, 8GM RAM, 15.6FHD, WIMAX 6250, 6 Cell LI-ION battery. Kaspersky
    T500 x 2: T9600 (2.8GHz), XP/Pro, 3GB Ram, 15.4 WSXGA+, X4500HD, 200GB/Hitachi TravelStar/7200RPM, BLUETOOTH, WIFI/LINK 5300AGN, 9 CELL LI-ION BATTERY. NOD32.
    T400 and T61 x 2

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1