Quantcast Gateway Laptop Adapter "Lite-on" Disassembly

Closed Thread
    Notebook Deity

Default Gateway Laptop Adapter "Lite-on" Disassembly

Today my Gateway M-6862's charger suffered a failure. While the unit it self was fine, the cable that lead to the laptop was not. It was rather bent, and was causing a short circuit which induced smoke to come out from the adapter.

So I trashed it, and got a universal adapter.

This is the inside of the Gateway adapter. Pretty good construction if I say so my self, average/decent soldering, more then sufficient quality in components. Unfortunately no capacitor brand or serial to track down it's manufacturer/specifications as far as temperatures go, and it was all glued (obvious white/beige color)...

Now, I am no electrician so I could not tell you what this adapter is exactly rated or capable of handling, apart from the label stating 4.72a@19v= which is 90w~.

Here's the case/label.. I must say this sucker was very difficult to open. Some other adapters open up with a few good bumps on the side.
    Spoiler :

Testament to my statement "very difficult to open"... Go go cheap screw driver set.
    Spoiler :

Now the power supply:
    Here's the power supply in it's natural habitat, a wooden flat surface of a cheap office depot desk... It's demonstrating a territorial threat for us to leave it alone by showing us it's metal sharp edges, and long streamline body..
    Spoiler :

It's plug to connect to the AC cable.. Notice the three hole dongle... bam chicka wah wah..
    Spoiler :

The back is covered it it's all off-white glue, shamelessly/intently displaying the average to sub averaging soldering of it's creator as if to say... nm..
    Spoiler :

Finally the front (or back) of the power supply, where the cable leads to the laptop's dc input jack.
    Spoiler :

After battling the beast, and slaying it I managed to gut it... Okay fine all I did was bend a thing metal sheet back.... :|
    Spoiler :