Quantcast GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    Hi,

    I bought got a Toshiba a205-s5804 back in Jan at Best Buy for around 400 bucks. I really loved it for work, but the Pentium Dual core T2330 was really too slow for CE6 compiles... I searched the web but no one knew for sure if GL960 supported 800Mhz processors or 4GB of memory. Some people were saying the Toshiba a205 really had a GM965 on it? I decided to find out:

    The a205 IS GL960, I didn't take a picture of the actual chip but trust me, it said GL960.
    Everest reports GL960 correctly, CPUz and Intel chipset utility are WRONG they both detect GL960 as GM965 and report GM965:


    I decided to try the upgrade so I added 4GB drr2 800 and the T7500.
    before:


    after:


    GL960 at 800MHZ!


    The chipset does only support 667DDR2 (I think thats all GM965 supports also) so the DDR2 800 was a waste. Also, and this is this is the big downfall I can only get 3GB to work in the laptop. With 2- 2GB sticks the machine will lock on the post screen. With 1-2GB stick and 1 -1GB it's all good. Im using bios 1.7 and have tried older bios file but I can not get anything more then 3GB booting, no matter what. If anyone has any ideas, or places to get Toshiba beta bios (fat chance right) let me know...
    THANKS,

  2. #2
    Notebook Deity
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,711
    Rep Power
    25

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    did you update your chipset/video driver before putting in the 2nd 2GB dimm? Weird as that sounds, it allowed me to get into Windows with 4GB. Before that, it would never let me get into Windows. I"m not sure if you mean POST'ing when you say booting?

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    W0000000000000000T! That's awesome news. I have gl960 in an Acer 5620Z. I already upgraded to 3 gig of ram DDR2-667. I was just waiting for someone to try and install a socket p merom above the T5450 in their gl960 laptop! That's awesome dude. So gl960 supports 800Mhz FSB.

    Can you tell u more about it? Like has battery life changed, does your laptop run hotter? Also, what performance increases have u had? any examples.

    Oh and was ur T2330 reported as a socket P merom in everest?

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    btw doesn't 4gig of ram only work in 64 bit windows vista/xp?

  5. #5
    can i haz broadwell?
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    8,194
    Rep Power
    52

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    Quote Originally Posted by =CHAVEZ= View Post
    btw doesn't 4gig of ram only work in 64 bit windows vista/xp?
    It should still "work" without the need for a 64bit OS, but a 32bit OS just won't recognize all 4GB of memory. But I mean you should still be able to use the machine normally, just only utilize something like 3.odd GB of RAM.

    But this is relatively big news, 800MHz FSB on the GL960. I'll be interested to see if all GL960s can do 800MHz or if its just a few select units. Before it seemed like almost everyone and their mom had been able to use a 667MHz FSB C2D on the GL960, but no one has even tried an 800MHz FSB C2D 'til now.

    Congrats on pulling the trigger on that XD
    n o n s e n s e - w a r s . c o m

    Intel NUC DC53427HYE Akasa Newton V/i5-3427U/8GB/HD 4000/830 128GB/7 Pro
    ThinkPad Yoga i5-4300U/4GB/HD 4400/FHD/Digitizer/Pro 1500 180GB/8.1 Pro

    D830 Review/CPU Compatibility/GPU Reflow

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    Quote Originally Posted by goofball View Post
    did you update your chipset/video driver before putting in the 2nd 2GB dimm? Weird as that sounds, it allowed me to get into Windows with 4GB. Before that, it would never let me get into Windows. I"m not sure if you mean POST'ing when you say booting?

    Updating my chipset drivers wouldn't help, I can't get past the post summary (Toshiba logo boot screen). Do you have a gl960 chipset? It seems weird that some gl960's would work with 4 GB and some will not. I was skeptical this was a bios issue but maybe it is. What kind of memory are you using?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    Quote Originally Posted by =CHAVEZ= View Post
    Can you tell u more about it? Like has battery life changed, does your laptop run hotter? Also, what performance increases have u had? any examples.

    Oh and was ur T2330 reported as a socket P merom in everest?
    With the upgrade the battery life hasn't much at all, maybe a few minutes if at all... It now runs 2 degrees cooler under 100% load, that could just be the AS5 I used when I reatached the heatsink, at idle the temp is the same as before.

    The T2330 was reported as "Merom-2M", it was basically an Allendale so the upgrade isn't as Day and Night as you would think for normal web browing, email and such... But for CE6.0 compiles the new system will do a full Sysgen 20 MINUTES FASTER! Half the time it was taking before the upgrade.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL, 60626. Rogers Park
    Posts
    5,758
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    mrpeepee congrats. I do know CPU-Z reports correctly but does Windows report CPU correctly in "Device Manager" I ask because others have had this problem.

    Also I would not be so certain updating chipset drivers might not solve 4GB problem. I am in no way saying this is the answer, as BIOS also likely the problem but until you try you will not know. Even though you stop on post screen. The start up process (post, boot) is not as linear as you seem to think, much is happening simultaneously and to think no low level hardware OS interaction is happening ( and maybe with conflicts) based on not proceeding to a screen is not definitive so consider at least trying driver update. You really have nothing to use.

  9. #9
    Notebook Consultant
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    158
    Rep Power
    18

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    Quote Originally Posted by =CHAVEZ= View Post
    W0000000000000000T! That's awesome news. I have gl960 in an Acer 5620Z. I already upgraded to 3 gig of ram DDR2-667. I was just waiting for someone to try and install a socket p merom above the T5450 in their gl960 laptop! That's awesome dude. So gl960 supports 800Mhz FSB.

    Can you tell u more about it? Like has battery life changed, does your laptop run hotter? Also, what performance increases have u had? any examples.

    Oh and was ur T2330 reported as a socket P merom in everest?
    I installed a T5450 in my friends Acer Aspire 4315, Chipset 960GL a few weeks ago!! It was a flawless install, works AWESOME
    Acer Aspire 3680-2633
    Duo-Core 2 T5300 1.73Ghz Upgrade
    i943GML Intel Chipset
    "Eat your hearts out!"
    2gb pc-5300 RAM
    100GB 7200 RPM Hitachi 7k200 HD


    NEW as of 4-16-09:
    Acer Aspire 5315-2698
    200GB 7200rpm Hitachi 7k200 HD
    3GB RAM
    Core 2 Duo T7300 @ 2.0Ghz, 4mb cache

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: GL960 with T7500 800Mhz FSB

    After reading this thread, I installed a T7100 in my Gateway ML6720 (GL960 chipset) with NO problems at all. The install was easy as the CPU is not soldered in.

    After uninstalling the existing T2310 in Device Manager, Windows recognized the T7100 upon reboot. I'm a very happy lappy camper.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1