Quantcast Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Notebook Consultant
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    109
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    I've been trying to search around for an answer to this on google but i'm having a hard time finding any information...what could I stick in my laptop to replace this processor? Socket P or M? would the T7100 work?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    NBR Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NBR Moderator HQ
    Posts
    16,217
    Rep Power
    91

    Default Re: Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    That processor has a 533MHz bus, so I'm about 95% certain you can only replace it with a Merom chip (T7200, T7400, T7600) if if if the motherboard can support a 667MHz FSB.

    What laptop?
    Desktop   15" Macbook Pro Retina
    W7 Ultimate, Core i7 4770k, Crucial M500 240GB SSD   
    16GB RAM, GTX 780, 3x Dell U2412M Surround
       Mavericks, Core i7 4750HQ, 8GB RAM
       256GB SSD, 32GB iPad Air

  3. #3
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    the T2310 is based on the merom core and uses socket P.
    So theoretical you can use the T7100/T7300/T7500 etc.
    But your chipset need to support the 800MHz fsb.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL, 60626. Rogers Park
    Posts
    5,758
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    I think Greg is correct!! It is the even #'s not the odd. And the FSB is whole different issue for will it work or not!!!!!

  5. #5
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Re: Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    Quote Originally Posted by powerpack View Post
    I think Greg is correct!! It is the even #'s not the odd. And the FSB is whole different issue for will it work or not!!!!!
    The even uses socked M right, the T2310 is socket P so you have to use P.
    My friend has a compaq C710ED with T2310 and the GM965 chipset.
    CPU-Z says its a socket P

    Code:
    Processor 1 (ID = 0)
    Number of cores		2
    Number of threads	2 (max 2)
    Name			Intel Mobile Core 2 Duo
    Codename		Merom
    Specification		Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual  CPU  T2310  @ 1.46GHz
    Package			Socket P (478) (platform ID = 7h)
    CPUID			6.F.D
    Extended CPUID		6.F
    Core Stepping		M0
    Technology		65 nm
    Core Speed		1064.1 MHz (8.0 x 133.0 MHz)
    Rated Bus speed		532.1 MHz
    Stock frequency		1466 MHz
    Instructions sets	MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
    L1 Data cache		2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache	2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache		1024 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control		yes
    FID range		6.0x - 11.0x
    max VID			1.238 V
    Features		XD

  6. #6
    NBR Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NBR Moderator HQ
    Posts
    16,217
    Rep Power
    91

    Default Re: Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    IF it is the GM965 chipset than yes the T7(3/5/7)00 processors will work IF an 800MHz FSB is supported. Which it might not be if it is the budget version of the 965.
    Desktop   15" Macbook Pro Retina
    W7 Ultimate, Core i7 4770k, Crucial M500 240GB SSD   
    16GB RAM, GTX 780, 3x Dell U2412M Surround
       Mavericks, Core i7 4750HQ, 8GB RAM
       256GB SSD, 32GB iPad Air

  7. #7
    Notebook Consultant
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Upgrading a laptop with a T2310?

    Use CPU-Z to find out which chipset is in your laptop. Then look up the chipset on the intel website, which should include a list of processors that are supported.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1