Quantcast DIY eGPU experiences - Page 225

+ Reply to Thread
Page 225 of 1180 FirstFirst ... 125175215221222223224225226227228229235275325725 ... LastLast
Results 2,241 to 2,250 of 11793
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: DIY eGPU experiences

Default Re: DIY ViDock Experiences

I came across a thread (on another site).....
    In short, we are able to connect a PCI-E 16x card to a 1X slot by simply cutting the final part of the 1X Slot, or we can use something like this:

Newegg.com - StarTech PEX1TO16 PCI-Express x1 to Low Profile x16 Slot Extension Adapter

And we have to consider the fact that there are some 1X PCI-E cards (even if they aren't to powerfull)

Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,Video Cards & Video Devices,Desktop Graphics / Video Cards,PCI Express x1

Are Vidocks usefull at all considening all this???

Hi ! I'm a total newbie, and not the most computer-savvy (though I do have a little background in electronics from my days as a submarine sonar tech), but I can learn quickly. I have a Sony Vaio VPCF115FM, with a core i7 (1.60GHz) and a Geforce GT 330M GPU, and it performs poorly with C.O.D:black ops, so I wanted to get set up with an external GPU as cheaply as possible. Has anyone put together anything like a step-by-step guide (I'm guessing that this is not that simple), or can someone point me in the right direction for figuring out what setup would work with this computer? Honestly, I don't know much about port configuration, but what would be the best way to get the info needed to figure this out? Any help that you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated!

I just got a email from ViDock; it says:"ViDock 4 Plus with an Nvidia 460GTX, Nvidia 470GTX, ATI HD5870, or ATI HD6870
    are all high-end options. ViDock 4 Plus will support all of these.

Assuming you are running Windows 7, the OS should support the drivers for your
    internal and external graphics GPUs at the same time. Read the release notes on