Quantcast My screen is flickering on my Asus notebook

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default [solved] My screen is flickering on my Asus notebook

Hello everybody,

I'm writing on this forum because I want to know if I'm the only one in this case or not. When I bought my Asus A6Ja notebook in sept. 2006, it was working quite well, even better than my desktop computer in fact. But few months after, somewhere around february-march 2007, the screen began to flicker very strongly. Here's a video of what happened :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9kh5GEHkzc

At start, it was just flickering like this in the lower-left corner of the screen. The problem is that I ABSOLUTELY need my notebook at school (without it, I just can stop going to school, I'm studying in IT). So around the summer holidays, I returned it to Asus. They decided to replace the whole screen, it cost them around 500. They bring it back to me on september, and after just 2 power up, the SAME problem started to appear. The same in very worse, the whole screen's now flickering and I'm back to school now...

What I mean by "flickering" ?
    Several pixel-lines of the screen are switching from on to off, and/or moving from left to right, and/or changing colors. They do not flicker at the same speed nor at the same intensity, so the whole thing looks a bit like if the display was crypted.

Here's what I learnt :
    • When I move the lid from closed-state to opened-state, the problem disappears but come back a few seconds or minutes later.
    • It happens when there's bright colors displayed.. if I switch my Windows skin to a black one, the problem disappears.
    • Heat could be in relation since the laptop is always overheated at 60 or 65C (fans are working). I tried to put it outside, when the temperature was like 5C, and the problem disappeared, but came back a few minutes later.