Quantcast HDMI Port... what are the uses?

Closed Thread
    Notebook Guru

Default HDMI Port... what are the uses?

I'm aware that this is a complete newbie question, but I've looked around and can't find a ton of definitive information on the HDMI port's capabilities. I mean, I know what HDMI is (that's what all the information you can google/wiki tells you... specifications, etc) but I don't know exactly what you can DO with it.

So... what do you do with a high def port? Connect a high def monitor? How does this link together with the HD rendering capabilities of the 8 series GPUs?

I don't need a technical brief, I'm simply looking for general uses to put the port to.

Notebook Evangelist

Default Re: HDMI Port... what are the uses?

Quote Originally Posted by Everyone View Post
    I'm aware that this is a complete newbie question, but I've looked around and can't find a ton of definitive information on the HDMI port's capabilities. I mean, I know what HDMI is (that's what all the information you can google/wiki tells you... specifications, etc) but I don't know exactly what you can DO with it.

So... what do you do with a high def port? Connect a high def monitor? How does this link together with the HD rendering capabilities of the 8 series GPUs?

I don't need a technical brief, I'm simply looking for general uses to put the port to.
    You can play all those high def bit torrents of movie trailers on your High Def TV through the HDMI port!

Petrov.

Notebook Deity

If you have a TV, monitor, or stereo receiver that accepts HDMI input, you can use HDMI to send video+soung signals to it.

Or you can use an HDMI -> DVI adapter and connect to LCDs.

Its just a connector for video and sound.
    Lenovo ThinkPad Helix - Core i7-3667U 2.0 Ghz, 8 GB DDR3, 256 GB SSD, WWAN, Wacom
    ASUS UL30VT - C2D SU7300 1.73 Ghz, 8 GB DDR3, 120 GB OCZ Solid 3
    ASUS Z33Ae - P-M 760 2.0 Ghz, 1.5 GB DDR2, 80GB 7K100 7200RPM, 9-cell, Prime95 Stable < P-M ULV Voltages