Quantcast Can the G75 do 32gb ram

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Notebook Deity
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    810
    Rep Power
    18

    Default Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    Asus says 16gb max, but others have said 32Gb was wondering if anyone has tried it?
    Sony S Series - VPCS111FM
    I5 - 430/8GB DDR3/500GB/DVDRW
    ----------------------------------
    How to clean install a VAIO S Series from Best buy

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/sony/470426-how-clean-install-sony-vpcs111fm.html

  2. #2
    Notebook Geek
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    The G74 can do it I believe, found this signature in another forum:

    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40


    I'm sure it would work, but i'll wait to find some more concrete info.

  3. #3
    Notebook Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    157
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    The G55 can take 4x 8GB, have a friend with this config. So surely G75 can do it too.
    Asus G750JX, i7 4700HQ, 32GB DDR3, GTX 770M - 3GB DDR5, 750GB SSH, 840 Pro 128GB, Logitech Anywhere MX Darkfield, Sennheiser Headphones, Windows 8.1 64bit.

  4. #4
    Notebook Geek
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    Quote Originally Posted by stege View Post
    The G55 can take 4x 8GB, have a friend with this config. So surely G75 can do it too.
    The question is why do you need 32GB of ram unless you're running VMs or doing a crap ton of video editing.

    I didn't notice the difference between 8GB and 16GB but it was super cheap so I sprung for it anyway haha.


    And stege, nice net connection. I'm only 40 down and 6 up No fibre op in my area. Boourns.

  5. #5
    Believe, Achieve, Receive
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    4,659
    Rep Power
    29

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    The 3610QM can handle 32GB of RAM so no reason why it cannot.

    It is most likely just not an option given by Asus because if they give you 4 sticks of 4GB that means you have to go out and buy 4 new sticks, marketing as usual. Faster RAM is more important than more RAM if you do not intend to use it for anything else but general use and gaming. More than 16GB is really for editing or design work or a stupid amount of operating systems.

    Personally 8GB of 1600 is more than enough for me and I am a process hog.

    Bitfenix Prodigy + Recon - Review - ASRock Z77e, I7-3770k @ 4.5ghz, 16GB HyperX Genesis 1866, Seasonic 520, 240GB HyperX SSD, Palit Jetstream GTX 770 @ 1172/2000/1224

    Asus UX21E Ultra Slim - Intel I5-2467 @ 1.6ghz, 4GB 1333, 128GB Sandisk U100, HD 3000

    Asus G73JH-RBBX - Links / Clevo Vortex II P170HM - Review / Alienware M11x R3 - Review

  6. #6
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    The 16GB limitation was only because of the Home Premium version of Win 7 that shipped with the laptop. You would need to upgrade to Win 7 Pro or Ultimate to get past 16GB (196 GB at that point).

    Memory Limits for Windows Releases

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    yes it sure does. 4x 8gb ram i used vengeance. One ram slot is on back of mobo, not that hard to get apart and installed. other three slots easy to get at.
    theres a youtube video showing how to get apart and get to back ram slot

    so my g73j and g75 both running same vengeance 32gb ram =4 slots
    im running win7 pro on both

  8. #8
    Notebook Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    441
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    There are versions of G75 with 32 on the market.
    "I knew this was a bad idea, but in the continued absence of any good ones I thought I might as well run with it."

  9. #9
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Re: Can the G75 do 32gb ram

    Quote Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
    The 16GB limitation was only because of the Home Premium version of Win 7 that shipped with the laptop. You would need to upgrade to Win 7 Pro or Ultimate to get past 16GB (196 GB at that point).

    Memory Limits for Windows Releases
    was just about to type ^. those are the rules of ram.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1