|
|
| NBR Marketplace Buy, sell or trade notebooks or notebook accessories. Keep it legal. |
08-01-2006, 01:33 PM
|
#1
|
|
Notebook Geek
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 75
Rep Power: 6 
|
OT, but beware of PHISHING!
Just wanted to share this with you all, but there are individuals getting information from this website and trying to steal your money. I just got this e-mail today:
Hello,
My Name is Dr Tom Alan, I'm a citizen of the UK. I will like to buy this item
for my newphew who is studying in college in Lagos. I'll pay you $350. If you
are interested in selling this item to me, get back to me with the shipping cost
to Lagos via Global Express Mail EMS. I will send you a postal money order via
Alertpay postal money order online payment.
Regards,
Dr Alan.
tomalan1212@outgun.com
--
_______________________________________________
Outgun.com free e-mail @ www.outgun.com
Check out our Premium services - POP3 downloading, e-mail forwarding, and 25MB
mailboxes!
Powered by Outblaze Just be on the lookout and if something sounds questionable, it is usually too good to be true.
|
|
|
08-11-2006, 03:27 PM
|
#2
|
|
Newbie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0 
|
Scam/Fraud Be Aware
I recieved this email about 4 days ago about me selling my laptop and this is what he/she said.
Hello,
My name is Dr. Tom Alan, I'm a UK citizen and i will like to buy this item for my Newphew who is studying in Lagos. I'll pay you $650. if you are interested in selling this item to me get back to me with the shipping cost via Global Express Mail EMS and also provide me with your full name,address and your personal e-mail address then i'll send out a postal money order via Alertpay online payment.
Regards,
Dr. Alan.
tomalan1212@outgun.com
If you recive an email from this email account do yourself a favor and just delete it, i almost fell for this scam, i just dont want u to do the same.
|
|
|
08-11-2006, 03:49 PM
|
#3
|
|
Notebook Evangelist
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 498
Rep Power: 10  
|
Re: Scam/Fraud Be Aware
I cant believe you almost fell for it. Standard response to those scumbag private messages is to PM a mod and tell them.
__________________
IBM T41p 2373-xXx - Arch Linux
|
|
|
08-11-2006, 03:57 PM
|
#4
|
|
Notebook Geek
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 75
Rep Power: 6 
|
Re: Scam/Fraud Be Aware
yeah, i posted about this guy awhile ago, i'll bump up my original thread
|
|
|
08-11-2006, 03:58 PM
|
#5
|
|
Notebook Geek
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 75
Rep Power: 6 
|
Re: OT, but beware of PHISHING!
this guy is still out there...
|
|
|
08-14-2006, 08:57 PM
|
#6
|
|
Notebook Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Rep Power: 6 
|
Re: OT, but beware of PHISHING!
well that sucks, i got a pm from him saying he would buy my laptop. thank goodness ive been busy and havent had time to send him my info.
|
|
|
08-14-2006, 09:47 PM
|
#7
|
|
---======---
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,028
|
Re: OT, but beware of PHISHING!
Send the username to Chaz, Abaxter or Brian and then they will be able to ban this guy.
Thanks,
Tim
|
|
|
08-15-2006, 03:29 AM
|
#8
|
|
Notebook Geek
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 89
Rep Power: 6 
|
Re: OT, but beware of PHISHING!
get their address and send them a bomb.
|
|
|
08-15-2006, 04:49 AM
|
#9
|
|
Notebook Geek
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 75
Rep Power: 6 
|
Re: OT, but beware of PHISHING!
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Tim
Send the username to Chaz, Abaxter or Brian and then they will be able to ban this guy.
Thanks,
Tim
|
he contacts with email
|
|
|
08-15-2006, 05:42 AM
|
#10
|
|
Overclocker
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,830
|
Re: OT, but beware of PHISHING!
There is one reason not to post your email directly on the forums.... If someone is really serious about what you have for sale, then they will take a couple minutes and make an account.
__________________
Notebook:
(Vostro 1400: C2D 1.6Ghz - 2GB's DDR2 - 120GB HD - 8400GS - 2MP Webcam - Bt- DVD-RW - 9 cell
Desktop Rig:
Intel E4300 1.8 @ 3.2Ghz - Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped) - Gigabyte DS3P - 2GB's of G.Skill DDR2 - eVGA 7900GS KO
- 2x250GB WD SATA2 (RAID 0) - 700W OCZ PSU
nVidiaReviews.com AsusReviews.com
|
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.
|