Digital Camera Reviews Notebook Reviews PDA Reviews Desktop PC Reviews Tablet PC Reviews

Go Back   Notebook Forums and Laptop Discussion > Notebook News, Reviews and Deals > NBR Marketplace

NBR Marketplace Buy, sell or trade notebooks or notebook accessories. Keep it legal.

Welcome to NotebookReview.com! Have a Laptop related question?

Register and ask it here in the forums and remove this ad

Are you looking for a Lenovo laptop or special offers? Check out our Why Buy Lenovo? page

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2006, 12:07 AM   #1
Rahul
Slobbers on subnotebooks
 
Rahul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,304
Rep Power: 32 Rahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud of
Default Could you guys do me a favor please?

I was hoping that some of you, especially those that know me here, could do me a huge favor.
I had gone to Yahoo Auctions and saw a seller called gr88dealz selling Vaio laptops for very cheap. Problem was, these were very expensive models and plus she would only accept postal money orders, which smells a lot like a scam. However, she emailed me a list of several people that bought from her who claimed she was an honest seller. One seller she noted was oceansblue0x@yahoo.com, who I emailed and said that he bought thousands of dollars of electronics from Angels Inc and was very satisfied with them and told me that he also though it was fishy to send postal money orders but that he was very happy in the end.

I did like how she took real pictures of her items, not just stealing pics.
Anyways, Yahoo suspended her account and removed her auctions but she gave me her company's email address,
angel@inetmsi.net
She said she runs a business called Angel's Inc in Kouts, Indiana which is a huge wholeseller of electronics.
I emailed her many times asking about how honest she was, what I would do if she was a scammer, etc. She got annoyed by all my emails and kept insisting she was an honest seller, calling me paranoid and worrying too much.

I was hoping if some of you guys could email her and ask her about her business or pretend to buy some laptops from her and reply back here on what they said to you or to just do some research on this business. I'd really appreciate you guys taking your time to do this for me!
__________________
VGN-TZ130N/B
Rahul is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 12:18 AM   #2
bmwrob
Notebook Virtuoso
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,131
Rep Power: 22 bmwrob has disabled reputation
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

Somebody will probably help you, but my advice is to just walk away if you think you smell a scam, especially after what happened to her account and auctions. In any case, I wish you well.
bmwrob is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 12:41 AM   #3
silencejar
Notebook Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 62
Rep Power: 7 silencejar is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

Only accepts money orders.
Ebay account was suspended.
Would an honest seller call you a worrier and paranoid,
or would they give you actual reasons not to worry and be paranoid?

I would take my money and peace of mind elsewhere.
silencejar is online now  
Old 01-28-2006, 12:54 AM   #4
BENDER
EX-NBR member :'(
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,130
Rep Power: 11 BENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to all
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

Best thing to do is to email yahoo auctions and ask them why they suspended her account...
I would walk away too
BENDER is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 12:58 AM   #5
Rahul
Slobbers on subnotebooks
 
Rahul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,304
Rep Power: 32 Rahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud of
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

I'm just a real sucker and an incredibly naive, gullible person. Even if there's all the signs of a guy being a scammer, I'd still sorta have some hope that maybe he's not a scammer and send money. Its only thanks to you guys that I haven't lost all of my life savings.
I was hoping that you guys could still email her and see what her responses were anyways....

Here's the link to the seller on Yahoo Auctions in case you guys care,
http://ratings.auctions.yahoo.com/sh...erID=gr88dealz

Man, I'm just so depressed at all these Nigerian, Italian, Romanian, etc scum that are all over Ebay, Craigslist and other websites trying to trick people, its just plain disgusting. And Yahoo Auctions especially lets this sort of fraud go unpunished, its sick, just sick I tell you.
__________________
VGN-TZ130N/B

Last edited by Rahul : 01-28-2006 at 01:02 AM.
Rahul is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:02 AM   #6
fuyuki
Notebook Consultant
 
fuyuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 248
Rep Power: 9 fuyuki is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

I would walk away from this. If something sounds fishy then it's best not to get involved. If she run a wholesales, she will know how much the vaio is worth.
__________________
ASUS V6J
fuyuki is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:15 AM   #7
BENDER
EX-NBR member :'(
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,130
Rep Power: 11 BENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to allBENDER is a name known to all
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

$299.99 is just too good to be true
BENDER is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:20 AM   #8
ZaZ
Super Model
 
ZaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Center of North America
Posts: 18,308
Rep Power: 85 ZaZ has disabled reputation
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

This has scam written all over it. I would run and fast. Never ever pay with a money. If something goes wrong you have no recourse.
__________________
ThinkPad R60 - 2.16GHz C2D | 2GB | 160GB 7200.2 | 14” SXGA+ | DVDRW | Ibex

We all find out who we are when nobody's looking.

I do
NOT answer notebook questions via PM.
ZaZ is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:46 AM   #9
Rahul
Slobbers on subnotebooks
 
Rahul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,304
Rep Power: 32 Rahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud ofRahul has much to be proud of
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

Well, what about the Xbox 360 auction where she took real pictures of the boxes and put a sticky note on one of them with her username and the date she joined Yahoo Auctions?
Though you're right, its a shame that postal money order gives no protection whatsoever, unlike with paypal or credit card. Sigh....
__________________
VGN-TZ130N/B
Rahul is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 06:25 AM   #10
aphirat
Notebook Consultant
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 243
Rep Power: 9 aphirat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Could you guys do me a favor please?

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=37708

(My little nephew, 6 yrsold, can make a photoshop picture like that.)
__________________
z70va w/BT Intel Pentium M 740 ~ Mushkin 1GB DDR2 533 Mhz ~ CD-RW/DVD ~ Hitachi 60GB 8MB Cache 5400 RPM ~ Intel 2915 A/B/G
aphirat is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thought you guys would get a kick out of this... PROPortable Asus 30 10-16-2005 06:23 PM
Just bought I6000 10 minutes ago..what do you guys think? delluser Dell 19 08-04-2005 12:40 PM
hi guys just wondering about the compaq n620c mbclubph HP, Compaq and Voodoo PC 1 07-26-2005 09:35 AM
Guys how to celebrate LINE OF SIGHT djrapidjazz Networking and Wireless 19 06-29-2005 11:06 PM
Plz help me GUYS djrapidjazz HP, Compaq and Voodoo PC 2 10-22-2004 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

TechTarget provides enterprise IT professionals with the information they need to perform their jobs - from developing strategy, to making cost-effective IT purchase decisions and managing their organizations' IT projects - with its network of technology-specific Web sites, events and magazines.

TechTarget Corporate Web Site  |  About Us  |  Advertising  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us  |  Submit Review  |  RSS Feeds  |  Jobs




All Rights Reserved, Copyright 1999 - 2007, TechTarget | Read our Privacy Policy
  TechTarget - The Most Targeted IT Media