Digital Camera Reviews Notebook Reviews PDA Reviews Desktop PC Reviews Tablet PC Reviews

Go Back   Notebook Forums and Laptop Discussion > Notebook News, Reviews and Deals > NBR Marketplace

NBR Marketplace Buy, sell or trade notebooks or notebook accessories. Keep it legal.

Welcome to NotebookReview.com! Have a Laptop related question?

Register and ask it here in the forums and remove this ad

Are you looking for a Lenovo laptop or special offers? Check out our Why Buy Lenovo? page

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2004, 12:01 PM   #1
acomputers
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 0 acomputers is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Notebooks from 390$ AlphaComputers

Hello,

We have new models of notebooks - If you intreresting, please email us!
If you want old models please visit our webpage - XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
We can advice you safety of payment. You will use MoneyGram with password, you will email us your password only after recived computers. We can't recive your money with out your password. We have new laptops for best price!!!

Please reaply asap.

Regards,
AlphaComputers
acomputers is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 07:48 PM   #2
bootleg2go
Notebook Deity
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,229
Rep Power: 16 bootleg2go is on a distinguished road
Default

This is a complete scam.
moneygram/western union is to be used only when sending money to someone you know and trust, not for online transactions. The way they steal your money is that they don't need a "password" or even have to show any ID to get the cash, all they need is the transaction# or tracking # to collect. They will tell you that before they send the product they need proof that you have sent a moneygram or western union and they will ask for that number so they can look it up and see that you have sent cash. What they don't tell you is that once they get the number from you to show to them that payment has been made, they can get the money right then and they do. Once they do that, nothing will be sent and there is no way to get your money back as they are always based in an eastern european country that does not have any financial institutional agreements with the US.
Bottom line is to just stay away, remember the saying and it is very true. "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is"

Jack
bootleg2go is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 01:56 PM   #3
notebooktech
Notebook Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 83
Rep Power: 11 notebooktech is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I agree with Bootleg2go - I would stay far away from this one

Owner / Partner http://www.mtwolfcomputers.com
notebooktech is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:17 PM   #4
Run1track
Notebook Deity
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,085
Rep Power: 16 Run1track is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Nobbie for editing the original post.

***************************************************
Fujitsu S6210: 1.6Ghz PM ~ 768MB RAM ~ 60GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
***************************************************
Run1track is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 01:45 AM   #5
nobbie
Notebook Consultant
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 166
Rep Power: 12 nobbie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well, it's the first time I've ever exercised my Moderator privileges. I just felt that the URL shouldn't be there. (Just in case someone didn't read further down for the scam alert.)

If anyone feels like I overstepped my authority, let me know, publicly or privately.

Nobbie[]
nobbie is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

TechTarget provides enterprise IT professionals with the information they need to perform their jobs - from developing strategy, to making cost-effective IT purchase decisions and managing their organizations' IT projects - with its network of technology-specific Web sites, events and magazines.

TechTarget Corporate Web Site  |  About Us  |  Advertising  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us  |  Submit Review  |  RSS Feeds  |  Jobs




All Rights Reserved, Copyright 1999 - 2007, TechTarget | Read our Privacy Policy
  TechTarget - The Most Targeted IT Media