Quantcast Disable startup programs in Lion

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mmp
    Notebook Enthusiast

Default Disable startup programs in Lion

I'm relatively new to Macs and just upgraded to Lion. I would like to disable several programs that automatically load when I login...these include LibreOffice, Adobe, .... I already checked each of these programs in the Dock and the option to have them start at login is NOT checked. I also checked in System preferences > Users & Groups but none of the programs are listed under Login Items. I'm out of ideas at this point and a google search did turn up much info. that I can decipher. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
    ThinkPad T61p 15.4 WSXGA+ | Core 2 Duo 7300 | 2GB RAM | 100GB 7200rpm | NVIDIA Quadro FX 570M | ThinkPad 11a/b/g | 9 cell

Notebook Deity

Default Re: Disable startup programs in Lion

I too am new to macs and don't know how to do this, but I was curious to see what your opinion is about Lion should I upgrade to it for $30? I haven't seen the need for it meaning i don't think I'd be utilizing any of those benefits. I'm starting to think that the $30 would be better spent on upgrading to 8gb of ram instead of my current 4.
    2012 Macbook Pro 15" 2.3ghz 650m, Retina, 8gig ram, 256 gig SSD
    H2O Desktop, i5 750, 780 GTX , 27" LCD, 16gb DDR3 Corsair, Samsung SSD 512gb
    2013 Macbook Pro 15" 3.8 Ghz 750m 2gb, Retina, 16gb ram, 512 gig SSD
    Dell XPS 9530 3.2 Ghz 750m 2gb, QHD, 16gig ram, 512 mSata SSD, 91whr Batt

Without ME its just AWESO

make sure you close the programs when you shut down, or Lion will restart them

Closing the window does NOT usually close the actual program on OSX, you have to actually select to quit it. I do not like how Lion handles things by default. I go in system preferences and turn on the indicator on the dock so you can see when programs are really running, and then right click and quit them easily.