Quantcast Upgrade my 260m SLI? (M17x R1)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Upgrade my 260m SLI? (M17x R1)

Hello everyone,

I own an Alienware M17x that I purchased in August of '09. It currently has two NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260M's. I am not an expert with graphics cards, and they are probably the only computer component that I am not well acquainted with..

I am fairly sure that my current 260m's are MXM 3.0, and I was thinking about upgrading to 560m SLI or a Raedon 6970m CrossfireX?

Would this even be possible with an M17x? Doing some reading I found out that power consumption might be the biggest issue with an upgrade like this if I do go through with it.

Thanks!

Kyle

Notebook Geek

Default Re: Upgrade my 260m SLI? (M17x R1)

Hi there.
    I've seen M17xR2 user with dual 6990.
    Your MXM slot is 3.0 so techincal side, it should match, put you should worried about heat dissipation. Not sure you can go for dual 560'.
    Power consuption are the same (150W).
    Actual : M17xR3 2820QM / 580M GTX 0.92v / 4Go 1600 /128Go SSD 22K 3dmark 2006 / 18K Vantage
    Mini : HP Zacate 3130 SF / SC2 Friendly
    Past : M17x / M17x R1 / Medion Akoya X7811/ Asus M60j / XPS 1730

Notebook Evangelist

Some people reported that none of those cards works on R1. Biggest issue so far for those cards is making them to work !

Best option: Radeon HD 5870

Alienware M17x | Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9300 @3.06 GHz | NVIDIA Geforce SLI GTX 280M | 8 GB RAM RAM 1333 MHz | RGB LED | 2x500 GB 7200 rpm

Quote Originally Posted by tyranus7 View Post
    Some people reported that none of those cards works on R1. Biggest issue so far for those cards is making them to work !

Best option: Radeon HD 5870
    How would I go about utilizing crossfire?
    Would I simply buy 2 cards?

NBR Spectre

Yes, two cards and a crossfire ribbon/cable, assuming you already have the two heatsinks and fans.
    You should also consider buying thermal pads and a tube of thermal paste.