Quantcast Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    My Latop:
    Aspire 5100

    Hi, everyone

    I'm having this huge problem! Ive been reading some of the discussion on this site and none (so far I've seen) really touches my problem. I apologize if I'm posting it under the wrong topic. But, heres my problem... I recently was reconfiguring my msconfig settings to try and increase the speed of my computer and removed a couple of useless baggage on my start up. I'm not a computer illiterate, but i wouldn't call myself a pro either. After i changed some things, i ended up crashing the OS and now i get a message like... so and so is "corrupted" everytime i start windows, but i cant remember the file. Anyways, to try and fix this, i installed this Ubuntu CD i had. Now i want to try and use eRecovery Management, but it was alittle too late now. So, i found out, in this forum, about Alt + F10. I seen the D2D recovery option in BIOS and i enabled it. So when i tried to use it in POST, it doesn't show up. Now, im a little confused. How can i have the D2D option enabled and still not have ALT + F10 working? Is there some fill missing? I see the PQSERVICE drive in the Ubuntu OS, and i see all (so it seems) the files like Autorun and D2D recovery Folders and stuff. I dont have any money to buy the Acer eRecovery CD, (even though its only around $35) Please give me ANY other option!

    f anyone has the link to the CD, send it to me through email! Zer0noise@yahoo.com

  2. #2
    JellyRoll touring now
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    WE GOT NEXT
    Posts
    2,730
    Rep Power
    27

    Default Re: Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    you need a program to rebuild the MASTER BOOT RECORD (sounds like you either changed your OS to XP,, or did a CLEAN VISTA INSTALL using an NON ACER install CD)

    by doing either of these it would cause the ACER CUSTOM MBR (which contains the alt+F10 recovery startup) ... another member has an ACER utility that fixes the issue,,,, but he isn't here now...

    i'll forward this info to him
    nbrsearch

    ACER Aspire 5315-2153
    T5750 Core2Duo
    2GB PC5300 RAM
    NEC 6550A D/L DVD Burner
    XP PRO SP3
    catch me at the redlight, aim for my head!.

  3. #3
    Notebook Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    i think your Alt+F10 should work...
    i tried to do this once and i could not get it to open in the first time.. but
    after a few times i went successfully into the recovery options.
    here is what i did:
    turn on the computer while pressing ALT+F10, do not
    release those two buttons until you go into the recovery options. also
    you might hear a beep that indicates going into the recovery options (at least thats what happened to me! hope it helps)

  4. #4
    JellyRoll touring now
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    WE GOT NEXT
    Posts
    2,730
    Rep Power
    27

    Default Re: Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    if the orignal poster reloaded an OS over the factory install his MBR has been replaced by a generic MS mbr that doesn't have the ALT+F10 key-press check... (which starts the recovery program instead of booting into the OS)

    even installing a DUAL BOOT can over write the ACER MBR,, especially if not using a different boot manager than the one included in ACER's VISTA...
    nbrsearch

    ACER Aspire 5315-2153
    T5750 Core2Duo
    2GB PC5300 RAM
    NEC 6550A D/L DVD Burner
    XP PRO SP3
    catch me at the redlight, aim for my head!.

  5. #5
    Notebook Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    Quote Originally Posted by bigozone View Post
    if the orignal poster reloaded an OS over the factory install his MBR has been replaced by a generic MS mbr that doesn't have the ALT+F10 key-press check... (which starts the recovery program instead of booting into the OS)

    even installing a DUAL BOOT can over write the ACER MBR,, especially if not using a different boot manager than the one included in ACER's VISTA...
    oh.. sorry i did not see that he reinstalled. (i was skimming quickly using ipod touch wi-fi so excuse me! ).
    how about if you try and look in pqservice partition for some ideas. you might
    be able to restore from there!

  6. #6
    Vox Sola
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,293
    Rep Power
    23

    Default Re: Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    Quote Originally Posted by Zer0noise View Post
    My Latop:
    Anyways, to try and fix this, i installed this Ubuntu CD i had. Now i want to try and use eRecovery Management, but it was alittle too late now.
    If you installed Ubuntu then your acer MBR has been overwritten by the linux bootloader Grub. As bigozone has said you will need to find a way to rebuild acer's custom MBR for it is what allows Alt+F10 to function. Atleast you still have your pqservice partition as that is what contains the factory image.
    DELL Vostro 3550
    Intel Core i5-2410M @2.3GHz (Turbo boost 2.9GHz) | ATi Mobility Radeon HD 6630M 1GB | 6GB DDR3-1333| Samsung 830 256GB SSD |
    15.6" LED Display | Wifi b/g/n + Bluetooth 3.0 | Logitech M510 | Zalman NC1000 | Windows 7 Professional x64

  7. #7
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    14

    Default Re: Acer Alt + F10 Recovery

    Quote Originally Posted by yz_991 View Post
    oh.. sorry i did not see that he reinstalled. (i was skimming quickly using ipod touch wi-fi so excuse me! ).
    how about if you try and look in pqservice partition for some ideas. you might
    be able to restore from there!
    I've looked in PQSERVICE and I've tried opening some of the files there, but had no effect, especially since Ubuntu can't run .exe files unless through programs like Wine (which, itself, is not perfect). Oh, and i tried what you said earlier. I heard the beep, but it just continue like usual. I dont see the writings on the bottom of the screen indicating the option of pressing [alt + f10] like it does for [f2] and [f12]. When i do load the Ubuntu, i see that it uses up 5 of the 30g on the drive, when in reality, i have 53g of maximum space on my C: alone. Does that mean anything? Could all my files still be there? Plus, when i use Wine to open certain .exe files, i see that it extract to folders that aren't there in the Ubuntu OS.

    Bigozone:
    I really appreciate it. I'm looking forward to it.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1